He Doesn’t Understand

ears Pictures, Images and Photos
As I don’t have a picture right now, you will have to just believe me.
While he is sleeping, I can’t very well sneak into his room, strap it to his head, take a picture, and expect to not disturb him.

After 6 months of waiting, Dash has his hearing aid.

He is cute.  Just ask Sandy, Christy, or Caly (nurses that I work with).  They saw him today and couldn’t stop chuckling over how dang cute he is.

He has a band that is navy blue with aliens and spaceships strapped around his head and on it is a special clip to attach his hearing aid.

The strap has to be pretty snug.  Not tightly fastened, but snug enough where the hearing aid stays put without moving around too much.

This thing is cool!

This thing is amazing!

This thing is expensive!

You could literally buy a small used car with the money it costs to purchase his hearing aid.

And guess what I’ve already done before it was 12 hours in our possession.

Dropped it.

Yes, I dropped it.

From a high shelf above my head.

Why was it on a high shelf above my head, you ask?

Because it was the only place I thought I could make work for storage that was not in the kitchen or the bathroom.  (if it gets wet, it fries the inside.  And then it’s broken.  Did I mention that this little smaller-than-a-bouncy-ball piece of equipment is THOUSANDS of dollars?  Because it is.  And I’m sticking it on my 2 year old’s head)

Yes, the mama standing before you is going to break this thing.  The 2 year old has nothing on me!  The audiologist kept mentioning the features it had to protect it from a little one.  But what features does it have to protect it from his mama?  Because that’s what’s really important.  I am starting to firmly believe that over half the accidents we claim have been done by our children are lies.  The accidents are really done by the mamas of children who can’t remember what happened so they make up a story that “must have been what really happened.”

Dash started wearing it at 10:30 am. He was intrigued at first wandering around the room moving his head around.  After we put it on him, as the audiologist and I were chatting about it, he sat down to do some building with manipulative toys.  He would look up at me and saying, “owie.”  But it wasn’t that it hurt him. It was that it was bugging him.

When we finally left the clinic, Dash was whining, “off.  off.  off. owie. owie.  off.”

It’s going to take some time getting used to it. For comfort, I think we may lax our rules on the nuk right now as we need him to wear the hearing aid , but even so, he’s not going to like it.  At all.

Dash doesn’t want it on his head.  He doesn’t want to experience something new.  He doesn’t like it.  It bothers him.   This isn’t something that Dash planned or was even expecting.  He doesn’t understand that the hearing aid is making his life better ; That it is just an inconvienence right now, but that he will learn to live with it.  And not only will he learn to live with it, but he will live better with it.

Do you have something in your life like that right now?  Are you dealing with something that seems impossible and “owie” right now and you want it “off”?  As I struggle through  times like those, I try to remember that God has good purposes coming out of the inconvienence and hurt.  I may not get through it, and I need to learn to live with it to experience a blessing I wasn’t expecting.  It won’t feel like a blessing right away, but I know that the discomfort I feel may only be temporary.  Even if it’s not, God has good purposes being fulfilled.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in dash, spiritually rescued. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to He Doesn’t Understand

  1. Jess says:

    Great reminder of those “owie” things in life. Hope Dash can adjust quickly to his new normal, and that it makes all the difference for him.

  2. I'm not one for change either.

    praying his transition gets easier!

  3. Ah, yes. I could name a few 'owies'. What a difference it makes when we remember that our Father knows the purpose for the discomfort. And when we trust that it is for our good.

    What verse comes to mind now???
    Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will direct your path. Proverbs. 3:5&6
    Amen!

  4. Oh no! But I have to laugh because I admit I do blame things on my kids when I'm actually the one who broke them :). Only can't do it now that they understand / correct me.

  5. Gianna – I am up in the middle of the night wrestling over an “owie”. Reading your blog just put a much needed perspective on the whole thing. Thank you!!! I'll be praying Dash takes to his hearing aid more quickly than you expect…and that you don't drop it again! Jill

  6. Arletta Rue says:

    as I read this I could hear Andrew's voice when we had his retainer put in his mouth!! my heart aches for you to go through this … and my heart goes out to Dane as this is not a fun thing to go through!! WE WILL PRAY for you ALL !!!

Leave a Reply

