Senior "Rights"


Join with me as I join Janna in recording my youth for my superstars!

In my high school, we waited for 2 important years.

  1. You waited for 10th grade, when you were allowed to leave the school for lunch and go out/go home/go anywhere.
  2. You waited for 12th grade–2nd semester–to have Senior Rights.  The school called them Priviledges, but we considered them rights.  Because to us, they were our rights as the oldest in the school.

Senior Rights meant you could leave school early if you had study hall during 7th hour–the last hour of the day.  Or if you had 1st hour study hall, it meant that you could come late to school.  If you had study hall 4th hour (before lunch) or 5th hour (after lunch), you got to have an extra long lunch hour.

My Senior Rights were 4th hour (I believe) and I had it alone.  What fun was that?  No fun at all.  I didn’t drive my own car so I was stuck.   But that was okay.  I was able to do whatever I wanted in school! And then, I would meet my friend, Heidi, for lunch and drive to her house where she would make herself lunch at home and I would eat my bag lunch and we would watch Days of our Lives–not that I was into it at all.  Really.  I didn’t care about soap operas (and I still don’t), but it was fun to hang out with Heidi.  I do remember the storyline being about a possessed Marlena–or something like that.

Last Day of School–I figured it was appropriate to wear my Bethel t-shirt since I was planning on attending that school in the fall.

Other highlights.

  1. State Officer for MN FLA/FHA.  There is so much to write about those experiences that I need it to be a separate post. I LOVED it!  And it was a highlight of my high school career.
  2. Youth group was always awesome with Bill as our youth pastor and now Jen Theis as his helper for us girls.  We loved her.  She was awesome.  Oh, and my huge huge huge crush on Aaron Dogotch that had started in 11th grade and continued until I was in college for a couple of years.
  3. Speech with Kaydee, Holly, Moira, Erin, and others.  Erin and I were in Duo again and we were major competers!  We ribboned at almost every meet.  And even got 1st place at West Central.  It was so cool!
  4. Going to prom with my friend Andy (who is now married to one of my best friends!) as Mickey and Minnie Mouse! 
  5. Graduation was pretty fun!  I painted my mom painted a little Mickey Mouse on my cap.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in My Piggy Tales. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Senior "Rights"

  1. wow! can't believe you got away w/ the Mickey Mouse on your cap. We were threatened w/ not being able to walk if the girls didn't have white dresses (our gowns were white and see through in the sun) or if had anything “extra” on our gowns or caps…

    Your senior year sounds like it was FUN!!! :o)

  2. Janna says:

    I like how you personalized your graduation cap!

    Your explanation at the beginning of the post was really good! I like the voice you used.

  3. Love, love the pig-tails!

    Ah, the 'rights', freedoms, experiences of high school and growing up. I had them, too. Need to prepare myself for the thought of my kids getting there. *sigh*

  4. Ginny Marie says:

    We had a closed campus when I was in high school, so we were never allowed to leave school grounds. The best day Senior year was ditch day! My friends and I had fun “rebelling” that day!

    The Mickey Mouse is so cute on your graduation cap! We had red caps and gowns, too!

  5. Gretchen says:

    What year did you graduate? The ponytails on the last day of school looks like something I would have tried to swing. 🙂

  6. Those Senior rights sound like a lot of fun. I always walked home and ate lunch… lame too huh? I'm slow this week, but mine's up if you want to check it out.
    http://iwritechildrensbooks.blogspot.com/2010/09/unanswered-prayer.html

  7. prom as mickey and minnie? How fun! We had to wait for senior year to go off campus for lunch, but it was highly anticipated too.

Leave a comment