I’ve Been Longing for Kindergarten

Yes.
She said that.

Only it was more like this.  In her tired sleepy little voice as I got out of the bathroom after my shower, Wordgirl was sitting in the armchair that is stuffed into our little dining room all dressed for school with her brand new pink and white tennis shoes sticking straight out, untied, waiting for me to tie them.

“Oh, Mom!  I’ve been longing for Kindergarten.”

Have you ever heard a Kindergartener say that? 
Seriously!?!

She must be well read or something like that because I don’t think I’ve ever met a 5 year old use the word “longing” in that context before. 

Have you?

Well, now I’m sending the most brilliant Kindergartener to Kindergarten and I am CONVINCED that she is leap years ahead of the rest of the school.  Even the 5th graders.

You show me one 5th grader who is using the word “longing” in their everday vocabulary and I will give you a $100.  Okay, NO!  That’s a lie.  I will NOT give you $100.  I will give you something else.  I just don’t know what.  But it’s not going to matter because you won’t be able to show me a 5th grader who is using the word “longing.”  I am CONVINCED!

Because my Wordgirl Kindergartner is brilliant!

Brilliant I tell you!

Here are some more first child off to school pictures.

But remember, these may look like regular first day of school pictures, but they are not. 
As Wordgirl is Brilliant! 

Waiting for the busy in the rain!
Can she really be getting on the bus? 
Oh, no!  Don’t GIVE your backpack to the bus driver. 

Don’t make the big girl move out of the first seat. 
Let’s just find J (our neighbor who started
Kindergarten today, too)

I met Wordgirl at school like all the other parents. SHE may be brilliant, but I was an emotional wreck.  Trying to figure out if I was waiting in the right place for the bus at the school meant I had to talk to some other parents WITHOUT crying.  I barely made it, but I did it.

All the Kindergartners lined up in the gym.  I and a daddy
of another little girl (whose name is the same as
Wordgirl’s) tried to usher all the little ones
to the gym. 
Ha!  That was FUNNY!  WE kind of left them in the dust!
Sorry everyone!
After some physical pushing and steering, I got Wordgirl
into the right line.  When a couple of other little girls lined up,
I whispered, “This would be a good time to say hi
and introduce yourself.”
She JUMPED at the challenge.
“Hi, my name is [Wordgirl].  What’s your name?”
Brilliant!  And so Social!
And finally in her class room,
she is the genius of the class!  Can’t you just see it? 
She’s going to be teaching the class herSELF! 
You know what is kind of ironic?
 I think the little boy sitting behind her
is named Max.
 If Wordgirl had been a boy,
that would have been her name.
Okay.
So it’s not so ironic. 
It’s a common name.
I just like to think everything revolves around me and
my life.

When I was done blowing her kisses, I walked out.
Slowly.
She was all smiles!
She’s my brilliant superstar! And  I’m just her sad mama who doesn’t want her to grow up anymore! 
But yet, I’m so pumped that she is growing into a lovely young lady.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in school days, wordgirl. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’ve Been Longing for Kindergarten

  1. Yay Wordgirl! I can't wait to share such brilliant stories about my Little Guy when he's there too. I just mainly promote going to “school” (daycare) each day now, so it won't be such a big transition.

    You go Mom, you did well too!

  2. librariane says:

    I know a LOT of new kindergartners this year and think all of them are brilliant. The key is reading. And not dumbing things down and using a variety of vocabulary.

  3. denise says:

    love sharing this journey with you (sea started kindergarten yesterday and i was tearing but otherwise non-descript…TODAY i'm down-right depressed so i'm right there with you on the not wanting them to grow up experience)…i of course think sea is brilliant, too, but love your examples of wordgirl and could imagine i was right there when she said that…also liked the part about the world revolving around you…i actually have a label “self-absorbed” that i use more often than i'd like…but that is actually what i enjoy reading about others' blogs…your world through your eyes often reflects the worlds of your readers in many ways…congrats on your journey and i love the photos!

  4. Arletta Rue says:

    I was 'longing' to see pictures of the day .. and they are great.. but tears come .. she is growing up SOO fast.. and of course she is brilliant . She is MY grand daughter!!!

  5. Oh, how I love you!!!
    This was a fun look into Wordgirl's first day of school. And why am I not surprised at her use of words? I mean, you DO call her WORDgirl.

    “I just like to think everything revolves around me and my life.” You crack me up! *grin*

  6. Jenny Aust says:

    That is SOOOOO going to be Sammy! I am praying for you Gianna!

Leave a Reply

