We are not of this world, but I still get defensive.

A couple of days ago I got an email from my friend Amanda and then she posted this post
I promised that I would let them know what I think.
What I should have done was pray.
But I didn’t.  I got out my fightin’ words.

I’m a little sheepish that I got so defensive.  I do NOT believe what I wrote was OFFENSIVE, but I was trying to prove a point. The world is the world.  I do not need to defend myself.  I need to pray.

 I should have just let it go. 

But I didn’t.

And now sheepishly, I give to you what I wrote to KDWB.

praying hands Pictures, Images and Photos
I am disappointed with Dave Ryan’s opinions on prayer, but he can have whatever opinion he wants to have. What I’m disappointed about is his complete disregard for the influence he has on people. he may think that people are ignorant for believing in prayer (or in the God to whom we pray), but he is ignorant for thinking that what he says is not affecting what others believe.

He may not care to pray, but he does not have to INSULT those who do. Kids who listen to your show may have been taught to think for themselves, but when they get insulted, they creep back behind their protective shell. Even adults do that. WHO wants to be insulted for their beliefs?


Christians get criticized for condemning the world. But really, it’s the world condemning Christians. For some reason, the world feels like they have to defend themselves against the “attacks” of Christians. If what we believe is all fake anyway, what does it matter? Why do you get so defensive?


So if what we believe in prayer doesn’t work, maybe you should feel sorry for us and not insult us.


KDWB will not be listened to in our home since you blatantly do NOT care how much your words affect others.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in on gianna's mind, spiritually rescued, yhwh. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We are not of this world, but I still get defensive.

  1. WOW, Gianna. I applaud you for taking a stand against the silly and offensive remarks made by that radio station. Good for you! I wouldn't listen to them anymore either.

  2. Amanda says:

    Yay you!! I love your response. It really hit home for me! Thanks for putting into words what I could not!

    Be blessed-
    Amanda

  3. Jen says:

    Hey Gianna,

    It makes me sad to see people come right out and deny the Lord. I often wonder what makes them so bitter toward Him. I think you are so right that what we need to do is pray first. All too often I act before going before the throne!!

    I want you to know that I do still follow your blog! I've been awful about commenting but please know I love your blog and admire your boldness when it comes to your believes and faith.

    Yes, lets get to know each other better!! I am all about creating good relationships through blogging not just gaining a follower!!

    Hope you're having a great Labor day!

    Jen

  4. librariane says:

    I finally went over and read Amanda's account of what happened and I'm amazed that he was allowed to say such a thing in such a politically correct world. Though aimed at Christians, we aren't the only ones who pray [to a God], so there could potentially be a lot more backlash, if folks knew about it.

    Don't underestimate the power of the impulsive. Since you do desire to follow God's heart, He will direct some of that energy and use it for good.

Leave a Reply

