Junior Year


Join with me as I join Janna in recording my youth for my superstars!

In 11th grade, I tried to do everything and I did do everything.

  • My classes:  American History, Precollegiate English, Chemistry, Advanced Algebra, Band, and new this year Choir
  • Teachers:  Mr. Melchelke–who was very old and had a crippled hand and had to take a nebulizer treatment.  I accidentally waked in on him doing that and I thought he was going to die.  Mr. Cannon–the smiliest wrinkled new science teacher in school.  We all liked Mr. Cannon.  But his clothes:  we couldn’t believe that his wife let him out of the house!  Mr. Torgerson–had a big belly but he was a super teacher.  Mr. Vick–our best band teacher we had since his wife Mrs. Vick!  Mr. Kleinwolterink–Mr. K.  was the best!  He was new that year, too and I loved him!
  • Activities:  FLA–Student Body Team and at the end of the year I was elected to be a State Officer!  Speech–Erin and I were a team for Dramatic Duo and we loved it, but our piece was from On Golden Pond.  It wasn’t the best piece for us.  Drama–In the musical Annie, I was part of the chorus and I was the apple seller.  My friend Mandy was Annie.  On opening night, I went out and said my lines, “Apples!  Apples for sale!  Apples for sale!”  Pretty difficult, huh?  Well, when Annie forgets to come out, you kind of run of ways you can yell the word “Apples.”  Band–I played the flute and participated in solo/ensemble competitions.  Choir–I was an alto and I participated in solo/ensemble competitions.  Tennis–I was the manager since all my friends played and I wanted to be a part of what they did.  Do you know what a tennis manager does?  Sometimes they collect balls, but mostly they take the scores of the matches.
  • Youth Group: During Christmas vacation, my dad and I went on a mission trip to Mendenhall, Mississippi with our church.  It was my first mission trip and it was crazy and tiring and eye opening and heart changing.

My junior year was exhausting, but I don’t think I would trade it for the world.  I loved it!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in My Piggy Tales. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Junior Year

  1. Crystal says:

    Wow! You sure did do everything! But it sounds like you had lots of fun! I wish I could've done more, though I still wouldn't go back in time to relive any of high school!! I was so glad to be out!
    http://www.crystalizedreflections.blogspot.com

  2. Wow you were busy…and wasn't it fun!!! Just remember that when your kids get this age…mine keep me hopping for their high school years and miles and miles on our car.
    Oh, Annie…I bet that was at the time I was seeing in on stage. How fun! Band…now my husband can relate there. Your mission trip…I went on one that year also…at that time mission trips meant in the states not overseas.
    I love how you remember all your teachers….you do such a great job of telling about them…it is such an honor to those who taught you.
    Fun as always….just two more to go!!!

  3. Ginny Marie says:

    I've always wanted to go on a mission trip, and haven't yet! Maybe someday when my kids are older. What a neat experience that must have been for you as a teen!

Leave a Reply

