Conversations on a Saturday

Photobucket
On Saturday I was Princess Pea was invited with the rest of the family to a new friend’s birthday party.
His mom, Amanda, and I have become friends through our blogs and have gotten together a few times now. 

Amanda has a beautiful family.  Her kids are approximately the same age as my superstars–give or take.  Her husband grew up in the same town I did, his dad was the superintendent of the school I went to, and his brother and I were in band together.

The party was on Saturday.  On Thursday, I read on my facebook updates page a note from Amanda to her father in law. “The kids are excited to see you.”

Which triggered in my brain, “Oh, YEAH! Of course they will be there.  Oh. My. Goodness.  I’m going to see the superintendent of my high school!”  Which led to the thought “RYAN will probably be there.”

Now in school Ryan was not an intimidating guy.  He played the trumpet and was a wrestler (I have no idea if he was good.  I just knew that he was a wrestler).  He was well liked and an all around nice guy.
But we didn’t talk.  I think I might have asked him once, “What time are we supposed to get to school for pepband?”  I can’t recall having any converstaions with him.
And that’s okay.  It’s just the way things are sometimes.
But I suddenly knew he was going to be there and so was his dad, and I was nervous.  Butterflies in my stomach nervous.  I can feel all the cells in my body bouncing off each other nervous!

Before the Fisherman left for work that morning, I told him I was nervous.
Fisherman:  Why?
Me:  Because I’m going to see the superintendent of my high school and he doesn’t know it.
Fisherman:  Like anyone knows their superintendent from school.  I wouldn’t worry about it.

My mom called that morning to ask me a question and when I saw it was her calling, I didn’t answer the phone with, “Hi.”  No.  I answered the phone with, ‘Mom, I’m so NERVOUS!”
(Apparently my peptalk from the Fisherman worked really well)
Mom:  Why are you nervous? 
(she’s such a good mom.  She stops everything to go with me and my craziness)
Me:  I’m going to see Mr. Rettke and Ryan Rettke.  Only they don’t know they are going to see me.  So it’s going to be awkward and I don’t know what to talk about.
Mom:  Who are Mr. Rettke and Ryan?

Clearly, I had nothing to worry about.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in life. friends, memories. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Conversations on a Saturday

  1. Amanda says:

    Dont you worry about a thing girl. Say waht you gotta say! They barely read MY blog much less venture to others… you go right on ahead and finish your story! 🙂

    Blessings-
    Amanda

  2. Dana says:

    So … this is neat … your blogpal and your past connections to her. I clicked on her blog and wow … wow. Did you really get to EAT some of that cake? Her creations are fabulous!

  3. Sooooo, how did it go?
    I trust you had a great time. *grin*

  4. HAHA!! I get nervous about stuff like that too. I bet you went and had a most wonderful time though!! :o) And I bet you found there was really nothing to worry about. :o)

  5. My ADHD Me says:

    HA! I bet it was great!!

    I have missed you and being around the blogosphere and hope to get back in the swing before too long!

  6. HA! That's when you realize they are “real” people too.

  7. you are so cute.. i get nervous about things like that too… hope it went well!

Leave a Reply

