Letters to people remembered in 9th grade


Join with me as I join Janna in recording my youth for my superstars!

Dear Bill,
I’m so glad you came to Morris and became our youth pastor. I don’t know where you got the name Billy Hilly Head.  We’re so weird.  I remember thinking you didn’t really like me at first.  That perception changed quickly.  I loved ROCK (Relying On Christian Knowledge) Group was my FAVORITE!  Okay, no youth group was my favorite!  I loved you and Alene and Christopher (and later Timmy).  My life is so much richer and meaningful having you cheering me on and caring about me and encouraging me to grow up faithful to Christ.  If I have to pick one of my favorite people throughout the years, YOU are on the top of that list.  With Jesus’ Love, Gianna

Dear Corry Rinkenberger,
You were my first boyfriend.  I am so very sorry that it only worked out for us for 1 month.  I am also very sorry that the whole time I was “going with” you I liked Mike Harmsen.  I even wrote his name in black permanent marker on my ankle.  Why?  I have NO idea!  And when we went to the Petra concert in Sioux Falls or wherever it was with Cory Nuest bugging us to hold hands and stuff, I didn’t really want to either.  With Firehouse blaring in the back of the van all the way there and all the way back, I was thinking about Mike Harmsen.  Sorry! The van breaking down after we dropped you off was so FREAKY!  Heather and I were teasing Bill not to run into the oncoming semi and then when he almost did because the front axle broke and the tires did a spread eagle, it was NOT cool especially since it was FREEZING outside (being the middle of the winter in the MN prairie!)  Sorry, Corry, I was a bit self centered. Apologetically, Gianna

Dear Mr. Hesse,
It was Nathalie, Laurie, and my job to make you crack a smile.  In civics and in driver’s ed (since that was a part of civics at the end of the year).  And Laurie tricked me into believing we would drink alcohol in driver’s ed to learn about the effects of drunk driving and I was SO adament that they couldn’t DO that!  And there was NO WAY I was going to drink whatever they made you drink!
Sincerely, Gianna

Dear Mr. Riska,
You were a big man and you were always sweating in class while the rest of us were freezing.  You always confused Kaydee and m. I loved the one day that you handed our papers back actually getting it right, Kaydee and I switched to look at each other’s because we were so nervous about our score.  It might have been our Romeo and Juliet test as that’s the only thing I can remember learning about (oh, and reading song lyrics as a poem in front of everyone–I chose The Rose.).  With funny memories, Gianna

Dear Sara.
You weren’t that short, but you were the shortest kid in our class, but you were so cool anyway!
Your friend, Gianna

Dear Sonja,
It was SO cool that you moved from SD and already had your driver’s license!  I felt so grown up while riding in the car with you!
Gianna

Dear Kaydee,
Still friends, can you believe it?  This was the year we started speech.  You wanted to do storytelling and I had no idea what that meant so I did it too!  I WAS HORRIBLE!  I couldn’t tell a story to save my life, but you figured it out and I believe you even earned a ribbon or 2 that first year!  Go Kaydee!  I still don’t think we should have been in the same math, but I’m glad we were!  I always thought you should have been with Heidi and Mike G. and everyone else.  Oh, well!
Always your friend, Ginanna

Dear Swanie,
Did you really think a checkmark system would work for band?  Come on!  I do remember one thing you said though.  I remember you said, “if you get caught speeding and that other guy doesn’t, it IS fair because what  you did was wrong.”  And this was the year that I started Marching band.  It was kind of fun, but not that terribly important!
Gianna

Dr. Mr. Court,
I loved algebra.  I STILL love algebra.  You were a great teacher.  And I’m sorry that Brian Erdahl and me and the rest of the class wore our ugly hypercolor shirts.  For some reason they stick out in 9th grade!
Algebreaically challenged, Gianna

Dr. Mrs. Grotjohn,
I made you do a lot of work.  First I was a Junior High Council Member and now I get elected to be Region 5’s Secretary/Treasurer.  I don’t really know what that meant, but it was sure fun being a Region Officer with Shari and Sara and Angela.
With apologies for you doing all that work,
Gianna

To all those who I hold near and dear, 9th grade would have never been the same without you!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in My Piggy Tales. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Letters to people remembered in 9th grade

  1. Sandy says:

    Loving your memories!!!!!

  2. Ginny Marie says:

    Writing those letters was a great idea! I had fun reading them!

    The first concert I ever attended was with my youth group to a Petra concert. We had a blast! I had completely forgotten about that concert…thanks for the memory!

  3. Gretchen says:

    What a clever way to write this! I also have major Petra memories! We did a mime to the song “Don't Let Your Heart be Hardened”. Funny that you quoted “The Rose”. Have you seen Napoleon Dynamite? Happy Hands Club!!!

  4. Arletta Rue says:

    now THIS stuff I remember!!

  5. Donette says:

    What a great way to re-live 9th grade! Love it!

  6. Oh…love how you did this…so creative!!!
    I remember Petra…that is through my kids!
    Great job…enjoyed as always!!!

  7. denise says:

    what a neat idea! i love this! wonderful for you and your superstars…and reads like the details in an autobiography…i figure you'll get around to writing yours one of these days…i wish i hadn't been so self-absorbed back in the day so i would remember more details…could probably go through some old journals to at least get my thoughts and spiraling emotions from that turbulent time in my life…

  8. Janna says:

    Love the creative way you remembered several people by direct address!

    Praise God for such a wonderful youth minister!

Leave a Reply

