The Sleep Lady Again

I know you all read through my entire post about TSL–The Sleep Lady (Kim) but I wanted to make sure I pinpointed some of the things that I especially appreciated about her.

  1. She states that the first 4 months you can’t really expect your child to get into a solid rhythm.  Some babies are magic and fall into one very early on.  I know this because I happen to have a magic baby right now.  But please remember I have had 3 other babies, and numbers 1 and 3 (Wordgirl and Dash) were anything BUT magical.  I remember at 10 months with Dash wondering when in the world he was going to be on a schedule.  And with Wordgirl I was crying because I thought I was going to ruin her at 9 months. New Mom Police Importance: I haven’t seen much out there that states this. For a new mom who needs to be encouraged (especially those with Post Partum Depression), this needs to be stated with a timeline.  I tell every new mom (and I know I’ve said this before): If you can make it to 6 weeks, you start to figure it out.  If you can make it to 8 weeks, your baby starts to figure it out.  If you can make it to 12 weeks, AAAAAaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! 
  2. TSL also states that in the first 2 weeks, you are not going to get much night time sleep.  New Mom Police Importance:  Another thing that every new mom needs to know is that they are not alone.
  3. TSL repeatedly says that you don’t have to use her techniques.  She continually states that you just need to be consistent to be effective.  Consistent, Consistent, Consistent. New Mom Police Importance: The pressure of doing something only one way and not being able to do it effectively just makes you more stressed.  (I know.  Looking back on it, Babywise probably wasn’t as bad as I thought, but because I felt pressured to do it their way, I felt trapped.)

I would recommend this book to any new mom because I feel it’s so gentle.  She writes with understanding and gentleness, and I really appreciate it.

Until August 13, Enter my giveaway and I think you will appreciate reading this book. Or giving this book to a new mom!  Or to a mom who needs some counsel.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in book review, Giveaway, The Sleep Lady. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Sleep Lady Again

  1. While my little guy isn't a baby now, it is almost like he is, only I can give rewards for desired behavior, a plus. I keep having others tell me that he'll sleep through the night again (or wake up at a decent hour), but it is sure hard to feel now. Maybe I need to think on that 6 or 8 week mindset?

  2. “because I felt pressured to do it their way I felt trapped”
    Well said!
    BTW, you've got to be the nicest police officer I've ever met. *grin*

  3. Anonymous says:

    Yeah for the New Mom Police! – BJoyful

  4. way to go new mom police… new moms need encouragement like yours!!!

Leave a Reply

