(With all our Strength) Planning for Victory

Victory Pictures, Images and Photos
Karen left a comment on my last With All Our Strength post.  She said,

I heard this once – and I try to stick with it: Plan your victories.

Like, when I put muffins on the table? I put out nine – regardless of how many the recipe made. There’s two for everyone else, and one for me. No chance to ‘fail’ cuz I’ll get in big trouble if I eat someone else’s muffin! LOLAnd I have found it really helpful to tell someone my eating plan. Accountability works well for me.

And each time I experience a ‘victory’ I feel better about my ability to make good choices. (It’s just I usually make good choices ahead of time – not so much ‘in the moment’.)

I agree that we should always plan for victory.  Making a game plan and having that as a resource makes it easier to make wise choices.

The With All Our Strength Game Plan

Step one.  Pray for strength.  We have the most power in all the world…. galaxy….UNIVERSE at our disposal.  But unless we talk to God, the power just sits there.  Waiting.  Plus God WANTS to talk to us.  This whole journey is about making our bodies into presentable (even BEAUTIFUL) temples to worship God.  We should talk to the one who has the most important opinion about that temple.

 Step two.  Acknowledge that you  are who GOD made you to be.  And what you look like or feel like does not take away the love God has for you.  He looks at me and thinks, “She had 4 perfect babies.  Her body, with her jiggly belly roll, is exactly the way it should be after having healthy babies.  She is beautiful to me.”  Or maybe about someone who has had cancer, He thinks, “Living in this fallen world has been tough on her.  She has scars and has lost a lot of weight, but I LOVE her battlescars in her fight for her body.” 
Say this as much as you need  to so that you start to believe it: My body was formed by God and He loves what he created.

Step three. Personalize your own plan. 
This is mine.
1.  Eat one treat a day. (anything else is gluttony–for me)
2.  Exercise everyday. (a mix of pilates and aerobic exercise: walking, running, biking, dancing or walking videos)  I shoot for this knowing that I only need to exercise 4-5 times each week (so I give myself a little leeway), but I refuse to give up if I miss a day or 5.  I just decide to start again where I’m currently at.
3.  Go to bed before 10:30.  I need to actually start doing this.

Check out my Crystal Light $100 Visa gift card giveaway on A Traveling Review and leave a comment on each of the posts to enter.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in With All Our Strength. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to (With all our Strength) Planning for Victory

  1. librariane says:

    Ack! Dancing video! We were going to do this while the fam was all together…

  2. Trying to go to bed before 10:30pm…me too, girl! I do good during the week, I just struggle on the weekends, you know? That's when hubby's home, etc.

  3. Yay for you, Gianna!
    Your plan sounds great. Keep up the good work. *grin*

  4. Dana says:

    I'm with you and Laura on going to bed early … although my goal is 11:30 at this point 🙂 It's way too easy for me to stay up til 1:00 :/

  5. I just struggle on the weekends, you know? That's when hubby's home, etc. and thanx for sharing.

  6. Jenny Aust says:

    Just this morning during Sabbath I prayed and thought about some changes I need to make in my own life concerning my body. I will have several good days…then one bad day…and then with some added stress, I make that bad day go on for a couple more! ARG! But I'm (hopefully) back on track. I just need to move on after a bad day, and remember that God's grace never ends! Can't wait to see you tomorrow!!!

Leave a Reply

