Foreshadowing Transitions


Join with me as I join Janna in recording my youth for my superstars!

If there ever was a time in my life that foreshadowed my adolescent years (and beyond), it would have to be when I was 6 and in first grade. 
I went to school in Murdock–a teeny tiny little town in Minnesota–and I think I was pretty well-liked.  I don’t know for sure, but in my memory, I was.
The first day in first grade I was SOOOOO excited.  I unloaded all my school supplies into my desk and settled in. 
Then, at the end of the first day of “real” school (That’s what I called it.  Man, looking back on my life, I should have realized just how opinionated I was going to be), I packed my crayons and pencils and kleenexes and notebooks and markers and everything I had just brought to school at the beginning of the first day into my backpack and brought it home.  When I got home, my mom took my bag from me and was so confused why it was so heavy.

Mom–Gianna, what’s in here?
Me–All my school stuff.
Mom–Why did you bring everything home?
Me–Isn’t that what you do when you come home from school?
Mom–No, sweetie (or some term of endearment).  You leave that in your desk.
Me–Then, what does everyone bring home from school?  I thought you brought things home from school when you were in real school.

My poor mom and dad.  They had so much explaining to do.  And if they weren’t explaining to me, then I was explaining to them why my thought process was logical.

In first grade, my teacher went on maternity leave.  I don’t remember her name, but I. LOVED. HER.  Before she came back, I planned a welcome back party for her.  All by myself.

The boys weren’t  invited.

It was going to be during the school day.

The sub pointed out that the boys wouldn’t have anywhere to go.  They would have to stay in the classroom.
I was so disappointed!

The night before the big party, my mom and I made O’Henry bars (peanut butter and milk chocolate bars.  YUM!).  This was when we were still allowed to bring in homebaked goods and share them with the whole class in school.  And my mom made my teacher a sachet (one of those pillows that had potpourri inside that you put in your linen closet).

I got to school the next day and I was SO excited.  However, no one else remembered.  NO ONE REMEMBERED my party.  I was the ONLY one who had brought her a gift.  Everyone else gave her pencils. 
Used pencils.
Maybe there was an eraser or two as well. 
But really. 
I was so disappointed.

But the O’Henry bars were awesome and really, nothing beats good food at a party.  Even in 1st grade!

Then, my world turned upside down.

We moved to Two Harbors into the coolest house ever.  My dad decided he wanted to back in social work, and that’s where he found a job. The house we moved into had 3 bedrooms upstairs and one of the rooms had the bathroom in it. 
I’m not sure how I got it, but I got that one.
I’m sure my parents were pumped because now I wouldn’t yell for them in the middle of the night when I had to go potty.
That backfired. 
I still yelled for them even though the bathroom door was 3 feet from my bed.  Okay, maybe 5 feet, but really.  I should have gone by myself without any problems.

Also starting at a new school in the middle of the school year was rough.  I was so anxious about going to school that I physically got sick.  Then, my mom came and spent a morning with me (I think the teacher knew I was not adjusting well).  From then on, my mom became my advocate to move me to a different room.  I don’t remember why I didn’t like the teacher, but my mom saw whatever I saw and made a move happen. 
When I moved to Mrs. Peterson’s room, I met Barbie (my soon-to-be new best friend!) and Andy Saur–and maybe Matt Sheils.  I really liked Mrs. Peterson.  But moving in the middle of the school year was still hard, and I would go to school everyday and cry.
I don’t know how long this went on, but one day, my dad drove me to school, walked into my room with me, helped me to get settled in my desk, and squatted down on his knees to talk to me. I remembered that he told me it was okay to cry, and if I felt like crying, I should just put my head on my desk and cry.  When I was done, I would feel much better.
After that talk, I don’t know how much more I cried, but even just having permission to be sad made me feel better.  I did cry more, but it was not long after that I fell into a routine and started to enjoy the rest of the year.  Especially when the school year ended with the bus driver taking us to Dairy Queen and picking up Dilly Bars for everyone.
And everyone know that the Dairy Queen in Two Harbors is the best Dairy Queen in the world!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in My Piggy Tales. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Foreshadowing Transitions

  1. Nikki says:

    Funny! My grandpa was the custodian at Murdock while you went there and my sister in-law is from Two Harbors!!

  2. I remember my first day of First Grade…. I called it “real school” too!! I even made up homework to “complete” that night….

    My teacher that year was NOT nice though, but I made it through and sounds like you did too!

    Your mom and dad sound like awesome people/parents. Not many would be that patient w/ their children. You are truly blessed!!!

  3. Ginny Marie says:

    Moving in the middle of the school year is so difficult! How wonderful that your mom and dad were so supportive and really helped you make that tough transition!

  4. Arletta Rue says:

    I had forgotten what we all went through that year..

  5. I love that you planned a party for your teacher!

  6. Such full memory!!! What precious parents to walk you through the adjustment.
    I love bring home all your stuff…I heard I would bring my work home and re-write it…oh, my, the beginning of people pleasing.
    Enjoying your journey,
    Janette

  7. Mom2three says:

    I had to giggle a little about you bringing your supplies home. You're mom must have been puzzled! My 3rd grade teacher had maternity leave 1/2 way through the year. The sub we got didn't have much time for little kids who had a hard time learning. Many of us were afraid of her and were so glad when our regular teacher came back! She is still teaching to this day!

    I've enjoyed reading your Piggy Tales and look forward to reading more next week!

  8. Isn't it fun to relive those memories? It helps us to be more patient with our own kids too, in their lives.

  9. Denise says:

    LOL, I remember being so eager to go to “real” school too. It sounds like your parents were very patient and supportive with you.

    I'm enjoying reading your story and look forward to next week.

  10. Your comment on my post was so sweet….isn't this bring back so many memories? Yes, go back and add so you will have it down for the future…thanks for stopping by. I have never watched a little child be baptized without wondering if their feet would come out from under them! LOL… looking forward to next week,
    Janette

  11. Crystal says:

    What a fun story! I, as an adult, am very opinionated, though I have had to learn to reel myself in! I was really bad in high school about it, but I almost wish I had been as a child. What a blessing to have such a strong opinion about the world from a young age, I think it makes things more interesting!
    Thanks for sharing!

  12. Anonymous says:

    I love all of your memories and stories. Part of my day at work is missing without a silly story or blast from the past. Glad you are coming in next week!

    p.s. You are inspiring me to start a blog. So far have a name and background color picked.

    🙂 Kaydee

  13. Wow. That morning with your dad.
    He drove you to school. Helped you get settled. Got down on his knees and talked to you? Encouraged you to let yourself cry?
    What a blessing! What a great dad!!!

Leave a Reply

