(With All Our Strength) What is the Purpose?

Jewish art Pictures, Images and Photos
image by WillHindsman

We are the temple of the living God.  As God has said: “I will live with them and walk among them, and I will be their God, and they will be my people.  Therefore come out from them and be separate,” says the Lord.  “Touch no unclean thing, and I will receive you.  I will be a Father to you, and you will be my sons and daughters,” says the Lord Almighty.  Since we have these promises, dear friends, let us purify ourselves from everything that contaminates body and spirit, perfecting holiness out of reverence for God.     2 Corinthians 6:16-7:1

UPDATE in the interest of FULL DISCLOSURE:  last night before my first post was published, I had like 5 or 6 delicious cookies that had a cup of butter and 3/4 cup of vegetable oil and 2 cups of sugar.  And I stayed up WAY too late.  And this morning I didn’t get up to exercise and almost DIDN’T at all today. But when everyone is napping and your husband is at home, you got NO excuses!  And to be honest, I was kind of bummed that I HAD to exercise!

Today, being the first day of summer, my new goal is to  physically honor God.  I want to worship and praise Him by taking care of myself. I know this seems a little self-centered, and I promise you that’s not where my heart is.

In the Old Testament, when the Israelites were building the tabernacle, the book of Exodus gives us 10 chapters about the detail of what was commanded to be used and what was used to built it and furnish it.  And this was just the temporary, moveable structure used for worship by the Israelites.

In 1 Kings, the temple is described in 4 chapters, and in 2 Chronicles, 5 chapters are used.  For the presence of the Lord, God used 19 chapters to describe how His dwelling place must be made.  His dwelling place’s image was important.

The priests were the temple’s caretakers.  They gave honor and glory to God as their cared for the place of his residence.  How humbling to care of His “home.”

The New Covenant now says that we are the temple of the living God.  If we are followers of Jesus, our body is His home.  This includes our heart, soul, mind, AND strength.  How can I give everything to God but not hand over my physical body, too.

It’s not about weight loss.  It’s about being healthy and pleasing God by caring for our “temples” in the best possible way.   I’m certain we can all do a little better job caring for our bodies.  Whether you are just a little overweight or a LOT overweight.  Maybe you are totally underweight due to anorexia or bulimia. If you are battling a disease like Cystic Fibrosis or cancer or lupus or epilepsy or a heart condition, your goal, too, is about being as healthy as you can be.  If you have a disease, illness, or physical/mental disability, your caretaking is a bit more intense, and you are an example! 
This is an awesome way to worship God–taking care of His place of residence.  Doing what you can to please Him.

My purpose is not only because I want to lose the remaining 25 pounds from being pregnant.  Nor is it to get rid of my belly roll.  My purpose isn’t just about my health (although my health will benefit–of that I have no doubt).  My purpose is to be the best caretaker I can be for the temple of the living God.

Each Monday for the 13 weeks of summer, I am going to try to encourage you.  I would love for you to join me in worshiping God With All Our Strength.  At the end of the 13 weeks, I will have a giveaway for those who joined me.  How will I know you joined?  By your comments, of course!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in With All Our Strength. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to (With All Our Strength) What is the Purpose?

  1. OH, I am sooo joining you : ) Loved this post, Gianna. What a beautiful and awesome reminder for us to keep a worthy home for our Savior to dwell in. I'm tweeting this post!

    Love ya!

  2. Jess says:

    What a great way to approach it, Gianna. I can hardly even remember to take my vitamins lately. I'll come along for the journey.

  3. Jenny Aust says:

    Count me in! I still have 22 pounds to lose from Hannah's pregnancy.

  4. I too am hoping to start being more healthy this summer… plan to start exercising on July 5th… still recovering from delivery… and I also plan to incorporate dessert only on weekends at the circus house starting the week of the 5th AND my hubby and I are going to try to read the Bible in 90 days this summer!!!

    Good job working out today and thanks for keeping it real about the cookies. 🙂

  5. Exercise is definitely what I need in my life.
    I am so . . . fluffy. 😦

  6. Janna says:

    Love your honoring God approach. I love the new design!!! I can really see you've put some effort into making your blog user friendly.

  7. Bren says:

    I have just been reading about this. I will start with you as soon as the pain is more managed. Thanks for the encouragement.

  8. Arletta Rue says:

    I am a day late,, but would like to be part of this … I did , however do water arobics this evening.. first time I have done any true excersize in almost 8 years… It felt wonderful.. although I felt like I weighed a ton when I came out!! I am going to take care of Gods dwelling place!!

Leave a Reply

