A Girls’ Night In

I love to bake.  But I am having a BLAST baking cakes right now.  Especially cool cakes!  I baked this cake for my friend’s little girl’s 2nd birthday. 

Notice that I said, “baked.”  Decorated was not mentioned.  I picked out the colors (at the store–quickly growing to be one of my favorite stores EVER).
Wait.  I’m getting ahead of myself.
My mom came over to our house to watch our superstars and I had asked her if she would mind staying late so that she could help me make this cake.  As the day wore on, she was wondering why she was needed, but I knew I needed her.  I told her, “You are going to walk me through decorating this cake.”
Mom:  I don’t know anymore than you you do.
Me: Oh, you aren’t going to tell me how to do it.
Mom:  I couldn’t do it any better than you.
Me:  You aren’t going to do it, necessarily.  What I need is someone to hold my hand as I decorate it.  (how she could hold my hand as I was using the cake decorator, I”m not sure, but that’s what I was requesting)
Mom:  Oooookaaaay.
Do you see the crazed look on my face?  Oh, that cake was in for it.
So after we cooled the cake in the refrigerator, I brought it to the table and stared at it. This was not my cake.  This was a gift to a little girl who is adorable and it has to be PERFECT!
So my mom grabbed the spreader and started to put the frosting on.
Mom:  I would start with the edges and smear the pink on the top.
Me:  The edges?
Chris:  You know what the edges are, right?
Me:  (a look that said, “of course.”)
Mom:  Smear the frosting here and here.
Me:  I don’t want to put frosting on the tray!
Chris:  AHA!  You DON”T know what the edges are.
Me: (a look that said, “Whatever!”)
With all that talking smack and looking smack, my mom just took over.
Doesn’t she look like she completely knows what she is doing?  She did awesome!  She ended up decorating the entire butterfly except for its body and antennae.  That’s mine!
And this was at 10:30 pm. 
It was so fun just hanging out with my mom without my superstars around.  That doesn’t happen anymore very often.  We had such a great time!
I am looking forward to the next late night project my mom and I get to work on together!
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in birthdays, blessings, friends, fun, generations, life, on gianna's mind. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Girls’ Night In

  1. love says:

    oh, how i wish my mom were closer for things like this! how fun!

    [of course you can say that about out sweet boy…total truth!] ; )

    nice to meet you!!

  2. denise says:

    what a great idea! my children always want me to bake a cake (they love to help cook but also love to eat cake) and i love the idea of recruiting my mom to help…cute photo of you with the frosting…you look like a crazy chemist whipping something secretive up…really i should have started this post with what a gorgeous cake it turned out to be! orange and pink are two of my favorite colors together and my daughter loves butterflies…

  3. librariane says:

    Hey! What about this store that you love?

  4. Jenny Aust says:

    LOVE your new blog look!

  5. Great team work and how fun to get a mother/daughter night together as well. 🙂

  6. Dana says:

    Fun story! It turned out lovely 🙂

  7. How lucky are you to have such a talented mom? Love the cake.

  8. Reeve says:

    I LOVE the new design! And cakes! 😀

  9. Arletta Rue says:

    are we good or what !!!! the cake looked great with the glitter!! hope you had a great time eating it with who it belonged to !!!

  10. Arletta Rue says:

    I forgot to tell you the new look is great!!!

  11. Moms just know right?? So glad you got to hang out w/ your mom! :o)

  12. OOOHHH!!! And the cake looks AWESOME!!

  13. Laura says:

    Awww it's really cute!! You showed that cake who was boss…or your mom did…whatever! Haha : ) The important part was that it got baked and decorated. I love baking, too.

    I was gone the past few days at the beach. I missed your posts. I'm going to have to catch up on all of them.

    LOVE the new blog look, too! Love ya, girl : ) Keep in touch! I need to get your momma's post up by this weekend!

Leave a Reply

