Too Many Words

It’s not that she’s being naughty.
It’s not even that she’s making bad choices.
What it is–she just has so much to say!
Wordgirl is true to her name–A girl FULL of words (and questions!).
I love her.  I love her VERY much!
But after 3 years of non-stop talking, I finally figured out how to address her talking.
Wordgirl:  Why is it cloudy?  Why did you give me a pencil?  What are we having for breakfast tomorrow?  Is it Tuesday tomorrow?  When is your birthday?  What should I eat first?
Me:  Sweetie, stop for a moment.  Stop and think about what you are wanting to say because right now you are using too many words.
-Pause-
Wordgirl:  Mom, I’m glad it stopped raining.
-Silence-
Me: Me, too, Sweetie.
Aaaaah.
_________________________________________________________________
check out a traveling review for my review of the Sisterchick novels by Robin Jones Gunn.
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in family moments, life, wordgirl. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Too Many Words

  1. Laura says:

    HAHAHAHAHAAAAA!!! Oh my gosh, seriously, that is my nephew, Ryder. Non-stop talking. He is also 3 and will be turning 4 this coming December.

    Oh, and I just got my book in the mail TODAY! Sooo cute!! Your mother is truly gifted at illustration. Did she draw that entire book?!! If so, I am more than impressed. I got the chance to make my way through about half of it. I plan on finishing it up tomorrow. Thanks again for sending it to me, it was so kind of you to do so. I'm sorry it cost you so much shipping, too. Sheesh!

    I'm going to have to find a super cute idea out of it and do a post about it. Show it to your mommy!

    Thanks for the laugh, miss Word girl : ). I thoroughly enjoyed it! Night-night, Gianna. “Talk” to you soon.

    (((hugs))) ~ Laura

  2. I think I was like that when I was young too. My mom said she was afraid I'd never talk, and then once I started, I never stopped. 🙂 Cute!

  3. Jess says:

    Ummm… yeah.

    A wise mom moment, Gianna. For sure.

  4. I think I shall try this on my niece!! :o)

    When Christen was a little one, all my teacher friends and professional friends said that kids who talk a lot were just super smart. Sounds like you have a genius on your hands!!! :o0

  5. Jenny Aust says:

    Good job Gianna! I totally need to use that same phrase with Sammy.

    Miss you and hope to talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

