Clearly, I Didn’t Think This Through

This scrapbook page was a long time coming!

So my dear friend and SisterChick (from Robin Jones Gunn), Dacia, and I give our children handmade gifts when they are born.  I started it when her oldest was born.  I made her a special scrapbook page and it was actually the first page of her baby album. (I won’t mention that her gift to my superstars is a personally made quilt for each of them.  Yep, paper and adhesive is the definite winner of who gives the better gift!) I did the same for her second born.  I meant  for her third to have it done soon after he was born.

Well, it was the day of his first birthday and I still owed him his page (this is all VERY ironic as Dacia is the Creative Memories consultant and I am just her groupie–in my defense, this tradition DID start when I was the CM consultant!).   We were getting ready to go to Micah’s party.  All the superstars were bathed and dressed with hair brushed.  Micah’s gift was wrapped and the brownies were made!  The littlest superstar was snoozing in the swing and the 3 older superstars were watching the last 10 minutes of their PBS show.

“Oh, great!  I can make Micah’s page and we can go when the show is over.”

For those of you who scrapbook, you KNOW that 10 minutes is NOT enough time to make a decent page.  Especiallly a page you are giving as a gift.

But I was ambitious!

I gathered all the necessary items and carried them up to the dining room table and then laid everything out.  I kind of knew what colors I wanted to use.

Good thing. Because that’s all I knew.

Before I got one thing on the page, the superstars’ show was done.  And being the fantastic responsible ones that they are (or that Wordgirl is), they turned off the TV and came upstairs!  Fourdatzky was still snoozing away and the girls climbed up to the table on either side of me to watch.  No harm, no foul.

Dash was entertaining himself with the opened box of Fruity Pebbles.  I didn’t realize that he could reach the shelf with the cereal.

But he can.

And he did.

And he helped himself to handfuls and handfuls of Fruity Pebbles.  Except that the FP’s filled his little hands so much that they were not contained.  FP were all over the floor!  When Dash decided that he had had enough of the spilling FP, he started dragging the box around the house!  FP were strewn EVERYWHERE. 
I. AM. NOT. EXAGGERATING!  (at least this time he wasn’t carrying around a cereal bowl with milk when he took it into his room and sat on his matteress for the rest of his breakfast.  Yet another story, I may try to remember to post)

Anyway, this was the point that I realized that I could not take the box from him and just put it back on the shelf.  I know, I was a bit too late.

All I can say is I tried (kind of) and  by this time, Fourdatzky was awake and UNHAPPY.  Wailing ensued! 

Let me say again, the supergirls were fantastic.  Talkative with lots of questions, but at least they were content to stay in one place and were relatively quiet!

The clock was ticking away and if I didn’t hurry, we were going to be super late (not that I had any pressure from Dacia because I didn’t. For real.). I had a couple more things for the page that I needed to do.  One of them was cutting vellum for the Bible verse.

Remember, Fourdatzky is WAILING his little head off during all of this.

As I was cutting the vellum, the blade popped off the track. No big deal.  I could just put it back on.

There!
S…..L….I…..C……E!   Half an inch on my left pointer finger.

“Oh, OWWWWW!  Okay, this really hurts!”
And I proceeded to run into the bathroom and held pressure on my finger for like 5 seconds!  Then, I turn 180 degrees and rinsed it off in the sink.

Oh, but I cut a blood vessel that was GUSHING!  So I turned to put more pressure on the wound for another 2 seconds.  Once again I turned to rinse it off in the sink.

I had to get a bandage.  HOW was I going to do that without bleeding out?

So I lifted my hands up and after some frantic ripping, get a bandage out of the package.

Wailing, Fruity Pebbles being strewn throughout the house, pressure, rinse.

How was I going to OPEN the bandage?

Still wailing.
Fruity Pebbles crunching under Dash’s feet.

By using my teeth and my quick smooth ripping open skills (HA!  Sure!), I was able to get the package open and the little tabs off. 

Wailing!

Then, the bandage was between my teeth and I thought, “Wash, pressure, wrap!”

And so I did!

The supergirls didn’t freak out.  They didn’t even ask me any questions about what was going on.  This is amazing.  Please mark this day on your calendar.  They let me just deal with the blood/pain/gash and didn’t cry or talk.  AMAZING!

After all this happened, I was able to get everyone in the van, the stuff in the van, and lock the door!  We were off!

And ironically. 

We were the first ones there!

For posterity’s sake, let’s look at the page again, shall we?

Not bad if I do say so myself!
And I so do!
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in family moments, fun, life. friends. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Clearly, I Didn’t Think This Through

  1. denise says:

    gianna you truly are amazing! and you were going to try to answer all my questions to boot? please take your time on that…i am going to have to revisit the idea but would love your feedback eventually…i am so impressed that you scrapbook and even do such elegant CM type pages…despite all the adversity! i love those little details, by the way…you will cherish them someday if you don't already…

  2. librariane says:

    Heh, you should have learned when M sliced herself with scissors a few months ago… 😉

  3. Reeve says:

    Robin Jones Gunn!!!

  4. Janna says:

    Ahh gushing blood I'm getting queasy!

    Glad you finished.

    I'm so happy you want to join us June 10. I think your kids will love to hear your stories now and as adults.

    Blessings!

  5. Amanda says:

    YOu did great girl… amidst some pretty big obstacles!!

    Well done!

    Blessings-
    Amanda

  6. oh my… you had a circus day there for sure!!! that is hysterical… ummm… in the nicest way possible… not laughing at your getting hurt… i promise!!

  7. Jenny Aust says:

    WHAT A DAY! I am so glad that you survived…and I do happen to love your scrapbook page! I hope that you can laugh about it now…though I would have been crying the ENTIRE time had it been me. Thank you for sharing…it's so good to know that these crazy days happen to other people out there!

  8. OK. I'm at a loss for words. Seriously. THAT was an amazing scene.
    (And 'amazing' isn't really the right word. But I'm at a loss. Remember? LOL)

  9. Jess says:

    Mission accomplished. Go Gianna!!!

    That scrap page is worth it's weight in… ummm… blood?

Leave a Reply

