My Mother’s Day

               My mom with Dash                    My  mother in law with Wordgirl  

My mothers in my life.  I am so blessed to have these beautiful women in my life to support and love me and my family. 
They are getting cards.  They went out in the mail on Monday.  I PUT them in the mail on Saturday night but much too late for them to be picked up.  So they will be receiving them on Wednesday.
Being that I am a mom, it’s a bit ironic that I forgot that it was Mother’s Day after awhile.
First of all, Chris had to work (as usual).
Wordgirl was so sweet.  I was in the bathroom with Dash and Princess Pea when she woke up and knocked on the door.  I opened the door and was greeted by a smiling face, “Happy Mothers’ Day, Mom!”
Seriously, how sweet is that?
But before we left for church, that same sweet girl was having a fit, crying so HARD that she was coughing in my face with an open mouth.  During this tantrum, I kept saying to myself, “Happy Mother’s Day to me.  Happy Mother’s Day to me.” 
After I got everyone in the car and to church, it was actually a good morning at church. Even though I didn’t get a rose for being a mom.  Not because there wasn’t enough for me, but there is NO way I would be able to carry ANOTHER thing on top of my kids.  (because you know I carry my kids on top of each other.  You should see me!)
For my special Mother’s Day lunch, we hung out in the preschool wing and ate peanut butter and jelly/honey and crackers and  a banana.
When we got home and I got everyone down for their quiet time (oh, and had worked out with my Country Line Dancing workout video–we’ll leave THAT for another post), I called my good friend, Jamie.*  Immediately, I knew that I needed to go over there.  When your friend can’t talk because she is crying so hard, she needs someone with her.  So I fed Fourdatzky, got Princess Pea and Wordgirl from their room, and asked our neighbor to stay with Dash while he slept until Chris got home in 15 minutes.  And off we went. 
I quick called my mom to ask her to pray.  She answered her phone with “Happy mother’s day.”  And I answered, “Oh, yeah!  I forgot!  I was calling to ask you to pray…but happy mother’s day, Mom!”
I asked Wordgirl to play with Jamie’s kids because Jamie was really sad, and she and I needed to talk. I love that I can ask my 5 year old to help out like that.  She is so senstive that she really wants to help out.  (we won’t talk about the fact that she was GLUED to the video that was playing when we got there. At least her intentions were good!)
My mother’s day consisted of a really sad conversation, cleaning a kitchen, washing the dishes, and sending Jamie to buy Papa Murphy’s pizza (oh, and  that meant watching 5 kids ages 5 and under).
That’s what it looked like from an outsider’s perspective. 
But you know, I wouldn’t have it any other way.  I LOVED that I could help her by just being there for her. I loved that I was being used by God to just be present. 
I hate so MUCH that her heart is being ripped apart.  I want to stop her “bleeding” and make it all better.  I want to take all the pain away. 
I can’t do that, but I can be a phone call away.  I can jump in our van and go over to her.  I can look for practical things that she needs.

 The best mother’s day gift my husband gave me was these words, “You do what you have to do.”
But you know what? With those words, his gift to me by the grace of YHWH was the opportunity to serve.

*not her real name.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in family moments, life. friends, on gianna's mind, yhwh. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Mother’s Day

  1. I'm glad you were able to help your friend. It is hard to see a friend in pain.
    Happy Mother's Day! 🙂 I am curious about this line dancing video!

  2. Amanda says:

    What a day! Your kids nicknakes seem so fitting… ya know… cause you are super mom and everything. 🙂

    Blessings-
    Amanda

  3. Jess says:

    Stackable children. Yes. Mine too!

    And I agree about the rose (although my oldest took charge and brought mine home), it's just one more thing to do. Find a vase in the back of the cupboard while knocking twelve others things onto the floor, cut the bottom of the stem off, get it in some water, watch it die over the next week, throw it out, and then wash the vase. Obviously these people don't think the “rose gift” through very well, do they?

  4. Wow! What a day! You have such an awesome heart of service and love so glad that that while the day may not look perfect from the outside, you were able to truly enjoy it and enjoy the roles God has placed you in. What a blessing you are!

  5. denise says:

    you are such an awesome mom and dear friend…i love the “from an outsider's perspective” versus your own…i think you are so right when you focus on others it comes back twenty-fold…glad you enjoyed your day and could help your friend…i love your run-on sentences…i feel like i'm there and that is how i think and live…thank you for letting me be a part of your world…

Leave a Reply

