My Favorite Things

My nursing baby (while he is actually nursing and not spitting up, soaking wet from spit up, or turning red from working a burp in order to spit up).
My pink tulips in the backyard behind my house (who would have thought I would actually see the flowers in my back yard).
My 23 month old’s hugs and grins (from behind his nuk.  We gotta start thinking of a plan to take that away).
My laughing husband (especially when we are laughing together and NOT when he’s laughing AT me).
My praying 3 year old (puhlease, puhlease, Jesus.  Help my sister to feel better because her tummy really, REALLY hurts.  Puhlease, Jesus.  Amen).
My ready to go grocery list with my coupons and prices all in order (not in disarray spread out all over the table and counter and trash! Yes, I have been known to go digging in the trash–it’s nothing compared to my sisterchick, Dacia, who went digging in the dumpster at college for her keys she accidentally threw away).
My excited 5 year old (except when she is screaming with excitement.  I don’t like the screaming!).
Let’s try to sing the song!

“My cute nursing baby and tulips in my backyard,
When Dash grins and hugs tight and my sweet laughing husband.
Princess Pea praying and Wordgirl who’s screaming………” wait, this isn’t going to work.  I DON”T like the screaming. 

 “My Favorite Things.”  Not that I don’t like whiskers on kittens and bright copper kettles, but those aren’t what I think about when the dog bites or when the bee stings.  Generally, I think, “do I need to go to the emergency room?”

What are your favorite things to think about?

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in contest, family, life, on gianna's mind. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Favorite Things

  1. Jess says:

    Gianna! NO I did NOT have him pee on my toe, I only suggested it and then was fast enough to get out of the way!!! LOL!

    Fun idea for a post you have here. I think a sweet nursing babe has got to be one of my very favorite things too! A few on my list would be: the wind in my eyelashes, that perfect golden light the last half-hour before the sun sets, and listening to my chickens sing.

  2. what a cute post! love the attempt at singing it and what your really thinking about when the dog bites or the bee stings. 🙂

    hmm… a few of MY favorite things… the look on my daughters face when she feels the baby move in my belly, my son's belly laugh, chocolate chip cookie dough, feeling the warmth of my husbands hand in mine as we lay in bed in the midst of a gaggle of kiddos on top of and in between us…

  3. Jenny Aust says:

    Very fun! Here's a few on my list…the moments of quiet before the kids wake up, having all 3 children cuddle with us in bed, sneaking into Sammy and Caleb's room to watch them sleep at night, date nights with my husband, having a few minutes to myself to blog or scrapbook or sleep, Sabbath at Caribou, my children's laughter, grass between my toes…I can't wait to hear how this song will play out!

  4. Megan says:

    My song…

    Chocolate, chocolate, chocolate, chocolate.

    Chocolate, chocolate, chocolate, chocolate.

    Chocolate and coffee, scrapbooking and friends.

    These are a few of my favorite things!

    MY SONG works out perfectly!

Leave a Reply

