Dash!

It’s so weird, but it’s official.  Dash will be getting a hearing aid for his left ear.  I don’t know WHAT I feel.  Dr. T.   (as Laura said, “I pity the foow….”)said more than likely he will need to have another ear surgery for tubes again, too, because the ear canal is narrowing again.
Blechh!
I love my little Dash.
Watching him grow up makes my heart a little sad and very proud at the same time.  I was watching him play at the park the other day. I realized how big he is getting and how before I know it, he will be launching into his own.  He won’t have the need for a mommy or daddy.  (the need for a mom and dad, yes, but not the mommy/daddy need.  Are you following?)
I don’t know why I haven’t had these feelings about the girls.  Maybe it’s because they haven’t ever had to do things alone.  When it was just Wordgirl, she got all the attention.  When Princess Pea came along, when she didn’t have mommy or daddy, she had a big sister to play with.  So I have never watched them play alone (or if I have, it was because they chose it “mutually.”). 
Being the youngest playmate and the third, Dash sometimes gets left behind.  Not intentionally, but he does.  And I think this really gets to me and I want to fix it.
But
He doesn’t know any better.  And right now he is fine.  Before too long, he will have a playmate partner, too.
I’ve gotta relax.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in dash, family moments, life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dash!

  1. Bren says:

    I think it might be mommy/son relationships also. I have had a harder time with Mikey getting older than Ashley who is now almost driving. We have that special bond with our boys!

  2. There is something special about a Momma and her boy. Tis true. There's also something about seeing your baby not be the baby anymore that will put a lump in your throat as well.

  3. Suzanne says:

    As our daughters grow up, they grow up to “join us.” At least it feels that way. But the boys grow up and become men. And it's different. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

