How to celebrate a birthday….

Wordgirl turned 5.
March 31, 2010.
My little girl is 5!!!!!

We had a fun time as a family today. 
Chris and I took the girls to a movie.  Actually, Wordgirl invited Princess Pea, and little Fourdatzky had to come with.  So poor Dash was left at home.  But at least he was left at home with Grandma and Grandpa.  And he had some INTENSE one on one time.

We saw the Princess and the Frog.  I didn’t really want to take Wordgirl (much less Princess Pea) to the Princess and the Frog because I had heard that there was a lot of voodoo in it.

They weren’t kidding.  Chris and I were taken aback by how much black magic was in it.  It was pretty shocking. 

Our options were How to Train a Dragon, Alvin and the Chipmunks, and the Princess and the Frog.  The other 2 were PG and we weren’t very comfortable with that since this was going to be Wordgirl’s (not to mention Princess Pea’s) first movie theatre experience EVER.  So we thought we would just talk about the movie after we saw it. Wordgirl told me that she was brave during the scary parts.  I think mostly the scariness kind of went over her head (for which I am thankful), but I told her that Jesus doesn’t want us to think about those things so we should try not to.
Princess Pea was only scared when the Alligators were chasing the frogs.  The voodoo stuff went COMPLETELY over her head.

In front of RiverView Theatre in South Minneapolis.  A very cool 50’s style theatre that a former co-worker told me about a couple of years ago.  It’s pretty cool.
Making the experience that much more memorable and ordering snacks!  Popcorn, pop, and a bag of candy!  Yum!Waiting for the movie to begin.  Anticipation and excitement are mounting!
Fourdatzky was just relaxing in his carseat!

I think I have learned that I am not going to make promises to my kids that I may not be able to keep.  Unless it’s a birthday party, I think we are now going to make birthday celebrations a surprise!  (at least for while they are little!)

My most favorite part of the day is still yet to come, but you’ll have to wait on that as I need to sleep while the little one is sleeping!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in birthdays, wordgirl. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How to celebrate a birthday….

  1. Oh, please give WordGirl a great big hug for me, and tell her Happy Birthday for me!
    I'm glad you all had fun at the movie theater. My daughter and I have had several conversations about movies, and the disappointment we have that movie makers often ruin an otherwise good story with bad language and sex scenes.
    A few months ago I let my kids watch 'Shawshank Redemption.' I had seen it before and remembered that the story was soooo good. What I had forgotten was the language.
    So I did like you did – reminded them that they were NOT to be using that language, and let them watch the rest of the movie.
    They still talk about that sometimes. Think it's pretty funny that Mom forgot how bad the language was. *eye roll*

    Here's to making good memories!

  2. Arletta Rue says:

    wow what a big girl you have!!… amazing how the movie companies have to ruin a good thing. glad you had a good time.

  3. librariane says:

    Yea for popcorn and snacks at the movie!

    And actually, I wonder if perhaps you did the right thing–setting up a lifestyle of seeing what the world offers but knowing we shouldn't accept everything they say. Does that make sense?

  4. Sounds like such a fun way to celebrate her special day!!

  5. Jenny Aust says:

    What a fun time! Not only for your girls and that time talking and sharing together but also for Dash…I really should use his real name, but Dash is so much fun to say! And YAHOO for popcorn and candy! What a special treat!

  6. Amanda says:

    Happy belated birthday sweetheart!!! Love the pictures and the smiles.. that is one happy family!

    Blessings-
    Amanda

Leave a Reply

