It’s Almost That Time

Our family is starting to get excited for Fourdatzky coming. Can you tell?

Even Dash is excited to kiss the “baby.”

When Wordgirl was born, I had NO idea what was happening. I remember driving away from the hospital, sobbing. I was SOOOO scared.

As the days (that felt like years)wore on, all I could think was, “Something is NOT right.” So I went to the doctor and they diagnosed me with Post partum Depression.

Woo. Fun!

They started me on some Zoloft and from there I was able to think clearly and sleep much better.

After about 3 months, I weaned myself off and was fine from then on.

When Princess Pea was born, I decided in the hospital that I needed to be on it again. I spoke to the doctor before I was discharged and she decided that I was right. So I went back on it and after 2 months, I was able to wean myself off.

When Dash was born, I thought, “I’m sure I will be fine. I know everything that I should expect.” Then, 4 days went by and Chris encouraged me to call my doctor and go back on it. So I did. (that’s making a very emotional and long story very very short). After about 4 months, I was able to wean myself off.

So this time, my midwife and I decided that I would start Zoloft BEFORE the baby was born. So we will see how it goes this time. I am very curious.

I am not one who LOVES to be on medication. I avoid taking medicine for a headache because I don’t like to be on too much medicine.

But I AM glad that I have an option for this incredibly difficult time of my life.

I am now an advocate for people who struggle with postpartum depression. It’s okay to be on medication if it’s NEEDED. I can’t imagine living through those feelings without some help.
Postpartum Depression is something that many people find difficult to talk about. But LOTS of people struggle with it. If you have it, you are NOT alone. Trust me!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in baby, family moments, pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s Almost That Time

  1. Amanda says:

    You are so good to be supporting other moms who need it!! Cant believe you are so close to meeting your next little miracle!!

    Blessings!
    Amanda

  2. Suzanne says:

    Thanks for talking so openly about this. It's the best way to be about it. I struggled after Timmy was born for many months, and I wish I had dealt with it in a quicker manner. Maybe I would have if I had read a blog like this! Praying for you!

  3. Sal B says:

    I love tummy pics! I have several of my kids kissing my pregnant belly too – priceless. Best wishes to you!!!

  4. Good for you, Gianna.
    Too many people struggle in silence, and I am glad you're opening yourself up so that others will know they are NOT alone.
    Let's pray.
    Father in heaven, thank You for Your goodness and mercy toward us every day. Thank You for Your perfect care for us. Thank You for faithfully meeting our needs.
    And, yes, Lord! Thank You for caring for Gianna through her episodes of PPD. Thank You for using Zoloft to help her through it. Thank You, God, that You can use ANYTHING.
    Father, I know You can handle whatever comes into Gianna's life. I know You will not give her anything YOU cannot handle. And I pray You will give her confidence of that fact.
    I pray, Lord, as You bless her with Fourdatzky You will also fill her with the knowledge of Your grace. That she will know every day – You are with her, You are good, You are holding her, and You will not leave.
    I'm asking it in the wonderful, powerful, beautiful, matchless Name of JESUS.
    Amen and amen!

    Love you!
    Karen

  5. Look how cute you look! Love the kissing belly shots!

    I think it is great that you are open about PPD and willing to get medicine… so many people hide it away or pretend it doesn't exist. Good for you for taking care of yourself and thus your family! And for sharing your story with others so they know they aren't alone.

  6. Janna says:

    My friend would be very glad to hear your honesty about this matter. She used medication to help with her depression after birth as well even though previously she never thought she would.

    It happens let's treat it.

  7. denise says:

    great post…i think depression has so much shame behind it…people who haven't experienced it assume you can pull yourself up, focus on the positive, whatever and i applaud you for sharing your personal experience and encouraging others to talk about it, seek help, get better…glad you were proactive and hope you are feeling great!

Leave a Reply

