undeserved

6 weeks ago, I had a problem. This problem had to do with childcare.
I HATE looking for CHILDCARE.
Since Wordgirl has been born, I have worked.
I got to be a work at home mom when Wordgirl was born.
When Princess Pea was born, I had to go back into the office and worked part time which changed to working full time so that Chris could go back to school.
Enter Elizabeth.
Oh, how we love Elizabeth.
She was the biggest blessing EVER. I can’t say that I’ve ever heard of such a wonderful nanny from anyone (maybe I’m exaggerating, but I don’t think so). Everyone knew how blessed we were. She didn’t charge very much and she INSISTED on helping with the housework (especially when I was so sick with morning sickness and gigantic in my 3rd trimester).
She is sweet, trustworthy, kind-hearted, and loving. I can’t say it enough, but she was the biggest blessing.
We miss Elizabeth. a lot. But we want the best for her and staying with us is not the best for her.

After Dash was born, my friend, Andrea, offered to watch the superstars for us once again for a ridiculously low price. Andrea lives less than 5 miles from our house and after awhile, the superstars loved going over there regularly. Andrea was such a good sport because at times she would have 5 kids (her own 2 and my 3). Andrea was so incredibly gracious. Even when she was stressed with my superstars, she never let it affect our relationship. She is (and probably always will be) one of my closest friends. I LOVE Andrea!

But then one day, I saw (by a miracle of God because I am TOTALLY not very observant at all) that she needed to be done. She would have never said it (or even realized it herself), but she had had enough.
10 weeks until my due date.
What was I going to do?
I started to throw it out there that I needed help and if anyone knew of anyone, I would be interested in contacting them.
I had 2 weeks because I was able to quickly cover those few days temporarily.
My cousin thought about it.
Chris’s cousin couldn’t do it.
My cousin had a friend who could be interested.
Chris’s other cousin would be a possibility.
Then, I remembered to pray.
So I prayed.
In 3 days (with only 3 days to go), it all fell together.
Matt, Chris’s cousin, offered to watch the superstars 2 afternoons a week (for basically nothing). Chrissi, my cousin’s friend from school, came over and chatted with us and agreed to start in 2 days (we had a really good feeling about her and she is a student at the college Chris and I graduated from AND she came with my cousin’s recommendation–we were NOT nervous about this).

Now after 3 weeks, our superstars are enjoying this arrangement so much. First of all, they get to stay at home. And in their words, “Chrissi is pretty. And cool. Matt is really cool.”

We don’t deserve this blessing. Today, Matt even brushed the snow off my car. He didn’t want me to be late for work.
How awesome?
I really don’t deserve how God has taken care of my children.
Or me for that matter.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in blessings, family moments, working mom. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to undeserved

  1. Yes, Karen's blog was an encouragement. I try to stay away from mommy rant blogs. I'm sure you know what I mean.

    I don't know if Seth is a Christian but I think he has definitely studied the Bible and I just loved to be challenged in my thinking! Can't wait to read your post

    Hooray for answered prayer and quality help!

  2. Undeserved, indeed.
    If we got what we DID deserve? Well, that would be a sad situation.
    So thankful God moves based on grace, and not merit!

  3. I can totally relate to the, “and then I remembered to pray about it.” statement… last week we got a washer for free off of craigslist… which was a huge blessing b/c ours was broken… anyway i was telling everyone how excited i was about it and as I said, “it is such an answer to prayer” realized it was, but i had failed to even pray about it.

    we are so undeserving of his goodness and his care for us.

    so thankful you have found a situation that works so well for you all!

Leave a Reply

