Shortcomings and Shortcakes

I was not put here on earth to make pancakes.
I may be put on earth to EAT pancakes, but not to make them.
This evening, Princess Pea was exhausted so I sent Chris and Wordgirl out to do the grocery shopping so that I could stay at home with Dash and Princess Pea. Princess Pea fell asleep for a late nap, so it was just Dash and me making pancakes for supper.
Let me reiterate. I was NOT put on this earth to MAKE pancakes.
First look at the skillet. A skilled pancaker would not have a skillet that looked so smeared with chocolate.

Now, let me explain to you about my pancakes. The top right was my last pancake I made. I forgot to put the chocolate chips in the pancake until it was too far along. Did that stop me? Oh, no! I put the chocolate chips on anyway and SMASHED them in with my turner. It was quite hilarious!
The top left is the pancake that I turned in half when I tried to flip it over. Not only that, BUT it fell on top of the other pancake on the skillet that was still quite not ready to flip. AUGH! There was pancake batter EVERWHERE!
The bottom pancake just looks like a pancreas.

What isn’t pictured (because you wouldn’t be able to see it) was the pancake I dropped into the bottom of the oven.
You see, Dash was in the kitchen with me and I needed to put the pancake in the oven to keep it warm except, you see, Dash was going to stick his hand on the oven door. THE INSIDE! So I tried to quick throw it on the plate and slam the door shut.
ONLY, I missed the plate and it landed on the bottom of the oven.
YUCK! I don’t know about yours, but my oven isn’t exactly the cleanest place in my house. But I couldn’t leave it there. So I picked up Dash, found a fork, stabbed the pancake, lifted it, decided it didn’t look too bad, and stuck it on the plate with the others.
Yep! I fed my family a dirty pancake. Someone is probably going to get cancer. I know. If they do, I will take all the blame!
So there you have it.
This is why Chris makes the pancakes in our house and why I was NOT put on this earth to make pancakes.
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in family moments, memories, on gianna's mind. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shortcomings and Shortcakes

  1. Ah the humor in everyday life! My pancakes usually go from golden brown to deep brown as I go. I just can't make them look all the same.

    That's why you load them up with stuff so nobody sees or cares:)

  2. librariane says:

    Pancakes are a Kordatzky thing… 😀

  3. I'm sorry for laughing at, er, I mean WITH(!) you. *grin*

    You put chocolate chips in your pancakes? Then, who cares WHAT they look like!

  4. My ADHD Me says:

    Wahahaha!!

    Your pancakes still look better than anything I make but your adventure in cooking them could be something right out of my kitchen.

    P.S. OK, you got me…I don't know how to write serious. I try to find the humor in everyday. It's just funny because someone says, “You're so funny” and then FREEZE….(brain freeze that is).

    After I re-read my post I thought, oh no, I hope she knows I'm thrilled she's reading.

    P.S.S Glad you're laughing at me and not with me…er…stop…reverse….you know what I mean.

    Have a great day!

    P.S.S.S. My word verification posts are my favorites too.
    The one here is junlerli.
    Hmmmm…I might have to skip that one.

    P.S.S.S.S.- No more P.S's.

Leave a Reply

