"hear" we go again

On Tuesday, Dash has surgery again. His hearing in his left ear hasn’t improved since October, and Dr. T said that he could see that it has grown. He wanted to try to get Dash into surgery and the first available was Tuesday.
Thank you. I kind of wanted to try to get it done before Fourdatzky was born.
Dr. T tried to explain to me that it would be a more invasive as he was going to cut into Dash’s ear a bit more to try to get a bigger tube in it.
Sure, of course, whatever it takes. I kind of just shrugged it off. I trust and really like Dr. T. I didn’t have any problems with this procedure.
Then, when the pre op nurse called, she informed me that Dash would definitely have a tube put in it, but he was also having an ear canal repair.
Oh.
NOW, I get it. THAT’s what Dr. T was trying to say. He IS going to put a tube in it, BUT he is also going to try to make the canal bigger. What does this mean exactly? Will he have a longer recovery? Will we have to watch more carefully for infection? Could the ear canal collapse and we would have to do major reconstructive surgery?
As I was driving home from work, I couldn’t help but cry a little bit.
I know that it’s not a big deal like heart surgery or cancer or anything.
But it is my baby’s ear. And it is surgery. And when he wakes up, he is going to be struggling like he did last time. Oh, also, there is no guarantee this will actually work. I HOPE it does. I won’t even tell you what happens next if it doesn’t.
My little Dash is safely in our Savior’s hands. I have to put all my trust in that because Dash is just entrusted to me for now. He is not mine but my Savior’s. I cannot worry about what tomorrow might bring.
If you think of him, please pray for Dr. T. and Dash on Tuesday, February 9.
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in dash, hospital, on gianna's mind, yhwh. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to "hear" we go again

  1. Oh Gianna! I will pray for you.

    My friend just went to see the Shriner's for her 5 month olds deformed ear and they found out he will probably be deaf in that ear.

    I'm glad He can give peace that passes understanding.

  2. Braley Mama says:

    Praying for you and your little boy!!

  3. Gianna, as soon as I click “publish” on this comment, I'm putting it on my calendar to pray for you and Dash Tuesday.

    But why don't we get started now?

    Father in heaven, thank You that You know exactly what Dash needs in this coming surgery. You know the trouble he's having with his ear. You know the cause, and You know the cure. You know ALL things and we can trust You. And, LORD, we give You praise!
    I am confident that You are already making things ready for Tuesday – that You're already in the operating room, waiting for Dash to arrive so You can watch over him and touch him. Thank You.
    Father, I am asking You in this moment to calm Gianna's mommy heart. Build her faith. Give her peace, knowing that she can trust You with the welfare of her precious son. Yes, LORD, fill her with the peace and power of Your holy presence.
    I'm asking it in the wonderful, powerful, beautiful, matchless Name of JESUS. Amen and amen!

    Love you!
    Karen

Leave a Reply

