waiting

i took a hiatus from my isaiah study for no good reason. i just did. but i’m back. i can’t promise to what level of dedication i will be back since in 9 weeks a little one will be presenting himself to us and i will be dealing with another transition in our lives, but as for right now i am back.
isaiah 8
key verse: Isaiah 8:17
I will wait for the Lord, who is hiding his face from the house of Jacob. I will put my trust in Him.
after reading Isaiah 8 a couple of times and taking notes, I realized that I was reading it too fast.
Between verses 1 and 4 at least 2 years will have passed if not more.
And in those 4 verses, you can just whiz over them without really thinking about it because they almost seem like a summary of nothing ,but YHWH has stated a warning AND a timeframe for that warning. He is trying to explain to His people what is going to be happening since they have put their faith in the neighboring countries and not in YHWH!
But because so much time has passed, I don’t think they take Him seriously.
wwwwhhhhooooaaaa. Wait a minute. We shouldn’t just brush off what YHWH says. EVERYTHING He says will be AS He says it.
Right?
I don’t know about you, but for me, I tend to disregard YHWH’s promises if they don’t happen on my timetable.
For example before Chris and I had Wordgirl, we decided that we should teach at Rosslyn Academy in Nairobi, Kenya. We decided that it HAD to happen BEFORE we had children otherwise it wouldn’t happen at all.
So we told everyone that we were planning on going to Kenya. In my brain, I started doing all the math and figuring everything regarding our family out. This went on for about a year.
Then, one day, I asked Chris, “do you want to go?”
He replied, “You know, I don’t really know.”
And we realized that there was no rush. We didn’t need to frantically get to Africa BEFORE we had a family; that YHWH is honored in what we do while we wait for our calling just as much as He is when we follow His calling.
It is not about doing all the time. It’s about being and trusting in Him; that He is perfect and no matter what the situation, He is to be trusted.
In the midst of scariness and chaos or even “nothingness,” trusting YHWH brings faith that YHWH is doing what is best for us. We can have confidence because He brings confidence and peace. If we have a fear in YHWH alone, He will make a way for us to Himself. We will have the light of dawn. (these thoughts are all taken from Isaiah 8)
2 questions that I am asking myself are: what do I believe YHWH really wants for me?
And how do I remind myself to be patient in His timing?
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in bible. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to waiting

  1. Jenny Aust says:

    Oh, this was so good to read today! And I do know that God's time table is the VERY best…not just good, but the VERY best. I do take comfort in waiting for Him to lead. So many things are out of our control right now…and that's probably for the best!

  2. Sandy says:

    Just so you know – you got me interested in Isaiah! I don't know if I've ever seriously read the whole book – and I'm not sure I'll get through it now either, but I started in Chapter 1 this week and “mind mapped” the first few verses – that made me think!!!!! Thanks Gianna.

  3. denise says:

    i so hear you on those last two questions…gotta tell you, though, the times i've “waited” for his timing, albeit impatiently, have been the most rewarding…

  4. gianna says:

    Jenny–i know. waiting seems so ANTI-productive. i'm totally with you. but look at what happened while you were waiting here in the cities. YHWH is sovereign even when we can't handle the “nothingness.”

    Sandy–who woulda thunk i would encourage my cool aunt to study an old testament book. not me! you are always inspiring me to look deeper into the word. it's cool to reverse it!

    Denise–i'm totally with you. after whatever I've been waiting for is all said and done i look back and think, “if only i had been patient on the Lord, this might have been even SWEETER.” but i'm glad he is patient with us in not understanding him!

  5. Waiting is difficult, no doubt!
    But I have found delight in discovering that God doesn't waste time. While we're “waiting,” when we think nothing is happening, God is at work.
    He may be preparing us spiritually.
    May be shaping our character.
    May even be working out the details outside our circumstance.
    Whatever it is, HE isn't wasting our time.
    Doesn't mean the waiting is easier to take, but remembering that God has a perfect purpose for the wait sure delights my heart!

  6. Amanda says:

    Great questions… wonderful thoughts… you inspire me to know more about my relationship Him!

    God bless-
    Amanda

  7. gianna says:

    i love the thoughts you have had, k.i.m! I think those are thoughts are the best part. there is no nothingness with, YHWH always is doing something.

  8. Mmmm. yes. I needed this.

    God spent a long time preparing Moses for a mission.

    We tend to judge things so quickly as “good” or “bad” but all of it has a purpose of drawing us to Himself and showing Himself to us.

    “He's got the whole world in His hands”

    We have a tendency to say “oh great that's all I need right now!” and God says, “yes that is exactly what you need right now and that's why I gave it to you.”

Leave a Reply

