sold out in the dirt

i have been too lofty and too vague.
even in real-nonblogging-life.
this happens to me when i talk about investments, too.
i get the concept.
it makes perfect sense.
but then in real life, i can’t comprehend how the money is actually spent/saved/lost/etc.
when i said we shouldn’t run the race toward the cliff with those who don’t believe, i did NOT mean that we should shout from a distance and keep ourselves from getting dirty. what i meant specifically was that we shouldn’t take the path they are taking. we are saved and our path leads to life. it’s a different race. THAT’s what i meant.
on the contrary, we need to meet people where they are at. we need to get in there way and touch them and love on them and get into the laundry basket with them. matthew 9:35 says that “jesus went into their cities and towns” (very paraphrased, my Bible is downstairs and i am trying to finish this post). he did NOT wait for them to come to him.
if our friends are going to believe us about the cliff up ahead, they will listen to us first ONLY if we have shown them TRUE love. not patronizing love. not “i did my duty” love. not let-me-pat-you-on-the-head-and-then-you-will-KNOW-i-love-you love.
that’s not love.
agape love is unconditional love.
unconditional.
being real. being sold out.
starts with love.
not cramming Biblical truth down your throat.
love.
i want to be sold out on my relationship with Jesus. i want to speak up for him.
and i want to love.
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in jesus, on gianna's mind. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to sold out in the dirt

  1. Amanda says:

    Girl… I want to love too!! I think this is a great idea to first hold on to. Once we love…we have the foundation to build the house of Truth.

    Great thoughts as usual dear sister in Christ!!

    Blessings-
    Amanda

  2. Bethany says:

    I love this post. I read through a few of them after I saw your comment on my blog. I love you desire to speak the truth clearly.

    And can I say, you might just be my new best bloggy friend? Or is that too soon? Yes I knew Psalty. He even made appearances at our church fairly regularly. Do you remember the record where he got washed? The only thing that kept me from listening to him past third grade was my birth order. Four older sibs would not stand for Psalty in their house! But, I did wear scrunchies all the way (gulp) through the 90s. Did you tight roll your jeans in the 90s too? Fun memories.

    Thanks for the laugh. I needed it this morning.

  3. Jen says:

    great post and what an encouragment. Wow. thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

