my object lesson

on tuesday, i got a fantastic and unexpected treat!

my friend, jenny, and her 2 adorable kids came down from brainerd with her husband, brad.

they stayed monday night with mutual friends, and then on tuesday, brad had meetings to attend in the morning and errands to run in the afternoon.

so jenny came!

it was so fun!

after a mass chaotic morning of 5 children running around our tiny house (or in the case of dane, crawling around), we decided to go for a walk to the playground which was fine. playing was great at the playground and having our complimentary cookies from the grocery store was spectacular.

then, we progressed home. this time, instead of sammy being in the stroller, she mostly wanted to walk. more correctly, run! sheis not used to our busy streets and would run down the sidewalk way ahead of us with wild abandonment to the point of jenny and me getting really REALLY nervous. at times maya made us nervous, too. and maya should know better.

my reaction was to snap. i would give directions with a snippy tone. i snapped at maya. i even snapped at sammy. i wouldn’t take the time to explain what line i was talking about. i just expected them to understand.
jenny’s reaction was to pull sammy close to her and explain the danger and practice obeying. after the 2nd or 3rd time of her almost running into the road, jenny told her calmly that she now needed to sit in the stroller because she was having a hard time obeying.
the way she showed her children love, always keeping an even tone and calling them by their names and being so very nt with each command given. i know i am supposed to cherish this time with my kids and really build into them. i KNOW that, but until tuesday, i didn’t know what it looked like. i didn’t know how to do it.

patience.

i don’t have it yet. i need to get me some of that.

jenny, thank you for teaching me how you teach your children. already God is using this object lesson, and i can tell you i am much more aware of how i am treating my children. i can’t express my gratitude to you for being patient with your children and encouraging me!
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in life, on gianna's mind. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to my object lesson

  1. Jenny Aust says:

    You made me cry, Gianna! Thank you for your kind words! I so needed to hear them today. I try so hard to use every opportunity to teach, train, and redirect, but there are many days I lose my cool. Thanks for your encouragement. I think we all need to be reminded of how hard our job is and how we need to learn from one another. And couldn’t we ALL use some extra patience!!!

Leave a Reply

