my cousin johanna

i meant to post this on friday, but i was too emotionally exhausted to do much of anything, so i am talking today.
my cousin johanna, is in town due to transitioning from working in tanzania to working in canada. the cool thing about jo is that some of her family from her mom’s side goes to the same church we go to, so even when we can’t see johanna or carla or jake or chuck or peggy with my BLOOD family, we get to enjoy spending time with them because of my CHURCH family.
anyway, she is in town and needing something to do, so on tuesday (remember maya’s birthday?) we picked her up and hung out at the mall where there is a carousel and a really fun playland. jo hadn’t been to a mall in at least a year if not longer (and really come to think of it, i am rarely in a mall myself. however, it is very different not being in a mall and living in the usa and not being in a mall and living in a country in africa. i WILL grant you that!)
it was so fun hearing about her life and discussing our political views. we both have a heart for Jesus and its very interesting comparing how we see the world. i am such a “spoiled” american girl, and she has such a broader scope and picture of the world than i do. she didn’t discredit anything i said and she didn’t disagree or tell me that i was wrong, but she helped me to see that the world is so much more than what i have in my line of vision. it was great to spend the morning with her. i hope to see her again before she flies to canada (or takes the train to montana and THEN flies to canada–how cool would it be to take the train? i gotta get me some experiences like that!)

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in cousins, family moments, life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to my cousin johanna

  1. Arletta Rue says:

    wow,, what a wonderful chance to get to know Jo jo now that you are both ‘grown up’ .. she truly had had an interesting life .. and so much more vision then I know i have.

Leave a Reply

