peanut butter stories

our family loves loves LOVES peanut butter. everyday maya wants a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for lunch (most everyday she gets that. sometimes we change it up a bit and we do grilled cheese or mac and cheese). when brin eats peanut butter, she becomes a ball of peanut butter mess–in her hair and on her face and in between her fingers and all over her clothes. it is everywhere.
fortunately for us, chris and i are a bit more refined in our peanut butter consumption. chris even more than me. for christmas, his sister, ruhama, bought him this:

peanut butter with peppers: also known as hot peanut butter. we thought it was interesting and chris enjoys it (i still have to try it…i’m funny and don’t like to mix my peanut butter with much more than chocolate and jelly). it sits in our cupboard right next to our other jars of JIF. we are a JIF family. chris officially converted me.

switch focus: my mom hates hates HATES peanut butter. one day when she was watching the kids, she made them maya’s favorite lunch: pb&j. as they were eating their sandwiches, maya kept saying, “grandma, my throat! my throat hurts!” my mom thought maybe she was getting a sore throat, so she gave her some tylenol.

later, when i came home, somehow we mentioned the hot peanut butter and mom said, “OH! that’s what i used! i couldn’t figure out why brin was eating so much yogurt! and maya was complaining about her throat!”

my mom is forever humble! too funny!

this is just a picture of my monster cookie dough! there is 3 lbs of peanut butter in this! and you know the story from yesterday! oh, and this is a picture with at least 3 dozen cookies already baked!
tuesday’s tip: if your kids need to dump out all their crayons like mine do before they color, do it on a jelly roll pan. that way they stay contained and if you have to move it quickly, presto chango, just put the pan of crayons up. that way you don’t have to take 15 minutes to find all the pieces of crayon around the floor! (suggestion from the coolest husband in the world!)

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in memories, tuesday's tip. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to peanut butter stories

  1. librariane says:

    Oh good, an update about that PB. I even forgot I gave it to him!I, too, am a JIF girl, but haven’t successfully converted Chip yet. How do I know this? He bought the PB this last time. I opened the cupboard and saw a jar of SKIPPY! Horrors!I don’t eat as much PB as I used to, so I suppose I’ll have to let it go…

  2. gianna says:

    Skippy is “pretty” good and it DOES have less sugar, but yes, I have become a JIF snob. 🙂 you crack me up!

  3. librariane says:

    Now, brown sugar, on the other hand, he has learned his lesson. He never buys anything but C&H or waits for me to buy it. 😀

  4. gianna says:

    you kordatzkys and your favorite brands! 🙂

  5. librariane says:

    Yep–I prefer Cheer, though Chip likes Tide. So on that one, we compromise. Every other time we (I) buy the other.I’m not, however, particular about my dryer sheets.

Leave a Reply

