confession time

when maya was a little bit younger than dane, i remember thinking, “wow. i wasn’t planning on being an all natural mother, but i guess i kind of am.”
however, truth be told that now, thinking about it to be a natural mom, you kind of need to have the mindset of one.
here are my examples and why i am not technically a natural mama.

i make my own baby food. we got our very first jars of baby food from children’s hospital when dane (just a couple of weeks ago) was inpatient and boy, was it convenient. the reason i make my own is not because i want my kids to eat all natural or i am against baby food prepackaged in jars. the reason is simply that it saves money. from one squash, we can feed our baby (whoever it might be at the time) 10 to 20 meals. that’s pretty good savings!

i nursed/am nursing my children for a year. i managed to get to 13 months for both girls even though i was pregnant each time for part of it. most natural moms go a lot longer to at least 18 months if not for multiple years. i am NOT a natural mom because i didn’t want to go much longer than i did and the ONLY reason i was an avid nurser was because we couldn’t afford formula and i NEEDED to nurse to feed my baby. now looking back, i’m super excited that i had that awesome priviledge, but in all honesty, money was the driving force behind nursing.

we use cloth diapers for most of the time. my cousin (who now lives in africa) does too and her driving force was that it was good for the environment. oh yeah! you’re right! once again, the driving force behind cloth diapers was the fact that disposable diapers cost a LOT of money. so we stocked up on cloth and i am plunging my way through this endeavor, too. you are not a true cloth diapering mama when you are so grateful that your baby is in disposable so you can just throw the poop away instead of messing with rinsing it out in the toilet. however, i have caught myself being a bit prideful that i do use cloth and thinking i am a notch above other moms because of it. to counteract that, i feel like a bad mom frequently and feel like i don’t know how to raise my kids.

so there you go. my reasons for not being a natural mom. i’m glad we have gotten through the baby years as we have, but sometimes saving a buck is exhausting. i wouldn’t trade it for the world and i LOVE being a mom.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in baby food, cloth diapers, Dane, nursing, superstars. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to confession time

  1. Jenny Aust says:

    Yeah! I’m so glad we’re natural, but not COMPLETELY natural mothers. I still can’t believe you and Bethanne talked me into cloth diapers! But I really do like them…well, like saving the money that is! Oh, and if you want to be MORE natural, you could make your own wipes too! 😉

  2. gianna says:

    i tried that! it didn’t work out so well for me! how about you?

Leave a Reply

