after being married 9 1/2 years….

today as i was at home from church with sick kids and my husband was at work, i decided that my relationship with my husband is worth more that my grubbies. many of you know that i work 3 days to 4 days each week. well, i dress much better for work than i do for my husband and my husband means WAY more to me than my job (side note: my job–which i am very thankful for and enjoy). this is what i mean:

yyeecckk! you think that’s bad? you gotta see the bottom!

in my defense, i dressed like this because maya wanted me to wear a skirt and leggings. and i only had my running leggings and didn’t feel like playing in a different skirt and those pretty pink shoes are necessary in my house as slippers especially if i need to run outside (and i was going to since i was going to do some cleaning up)–i have nicer slippers–you’ve seen them; they are monster owls, remember!–for if i don’t need to run outside. but anyway, my point is–wouldn’t you want to come home to that?

and to top it all off, our house was a disaster since it’s recycling day tomorrow.
i determined today as i was cleaning the floor, that on the days i am off and chris works, he will NOT come home to see me like that. i want to resemble at least a little bit the girl from college who he fell in love with. i know we are 13 years removed from that, but still. that picture is scary!
so after i cleaned the house a bit and worked out, i thought i heard him pull up. i raced up to our bedroom and changed. luckily it wasn’t him, so i was able to change, and fix my hair and face. it was not perfect, but at least this is what he came home to instead:
and since i showed you the bottom before i will show it to you again. although it is really nothing fantastic!

oh, yeah, and also, a much more attractive house!

phew!

(disclaimer: i put all the recycling outside to get it ready to haul down to the end of the driveway tonight, but it blew all over the driveway. i didn’t know that so when chris came home, he had to pick it up…woops. sorry, babe!)
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in family moments, my husband, wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to after being married 9 1/2 years….

  1. It’s both sad and hilarious that he had to pick up all that recycling after you were trying so hard to get it out of his sight! I also try not to be “ugly sweatpants wife”. I think our guys appreciate that! Picking up before he walks in the door because I like it when he does it for me!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Ok,,, you made me laugh outloud!!I still dress like a slob at home.. Oh dear,, what must my hubby think of me!!

  3. Arletta Rue says:

    this is the same person again… for some reason I can’t get this thing to work the right way for me… ( it is your goofy mother)

  4. Bren says:

    Since the surgery I have been in pj bottoms unless I was at work. I can finally wear clothes again but I am not sure if Steve even noticed.

  5. Jenny Aust says:

    You hit the nail on the head! Why do we NOT dress up for our hubbies! I struggle daily with this as well. But not today… : )

  6. gianna says:

    thanks for you comments everyone. i’m glad i’m not the only one who feels like this! we’ll see how long i can do this, too!

Leave a Reply

