break a leg

On Saturday, Chris and I were priviledged to go out on a date. My parents helped us out by making it possible for us to get a baby-sitter and to go to a community theatre play. We drove to Finlayson, MN to East Central School (elementary, middle, and high school are all in the same building). As we were walking in, Chris asked, “What play are we seeing?” To which I answered, “Annie, Get you Gun.” So I wasn’t very good at communicating every detail with him (OKAY, any detail!).
2 minutes before the curtain call, Chris and I walked into the theatre and were directed to our seats. We were in Row G, seats 14 and 15. Yep, that’s right. DIRECTLY in the middle of the row and of course every other seat (except ours) was filled, so we had to shuffle our way past 15 other audience members. Oh, brother.
Anyway, we sat , we said hello to as many members of my family as we could, and the lights went down.
Then, I got nervous.

We were there to watch my mom and dad. My mom was part of the chorus (and she had a teeny tiny little speaking part–she said one word) and my dad, my dad…..my DAD was one of the main characters! Everytime my mom had to dance, I was nervous. Every time my dad had a line to say, I was nervous! I can’t imagine what it will be like when my kids are in plays. I am going to be a wreck!

But they were so good! I was so proud of them. My mom was in the front for the opening number, so everyone could see how she was dancing. She was great! (they wouldn’t have put her there if she couldn’t do it!) And she was engaging to the audience. She didn’t just stare blankly out into the dark like many of the other cast members did.

My dad was Charlie Davenport, the show manager! He had so many lines. And so many different places he had to be across the stage. I was so proud of him, too!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in memories. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to break a leg

  1. librariane says:

    That’s so great! The last time I saw that particular play was in Girl Scouts, so that was probably elementary school. It was at the Fireside in Fort Atkinson and I believe Christopher went, too…Anyway, I love that pic of your dad. 🙂

  2. gianna says:

    Yeah, I had never seen it. I had NO idea what it was about. Chris did mention that he had seen it in the past.

  3. Karin says:

    What a great way to get out of the house. Aren’t parents great when they help you out so you can have a life beyond taking care of kids? I understand the nervousness part too. William’s pre-school is having a program in December and I am already wondering how he is going to do.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Okay, So I read it now.I was nervous too.Dad

Leave a Reply

