…so this is why i couldn’t call you


A typical night with Gianna looks like this:
Chris ran to Target to pick up a couple of things yesterday after supper. He left me with a sleeping Dane and 2 little girls to put in the tub. It should have been easy. However, as soon as I got both girls into the tub, I heard screaming. Oh, yes, Dane woke up and was way past his feeding time, so I went upstairs and got him and brought him downstairs so that I would at least be near the girls even if I wasn’t in the bathroom with them. I started nursing him and when he was almost 1/2 done, I heard from the bathroom, “Peeyou! Peeyou! Yuck. Peeyou!” Brin says that when I change a poopy diaper of hers. My only guess was that she pooped in the tub (AGAIN!). Dane was still nursing so I called into Maya, “Hey, Maya! Did Brin poop?” Her answer was, “No….there’s poop in the tub, Mom!” To which I yelled, “Okay, you gotta get out!” I put Dane down and ran into the bathroom (remember he’s not done eating!), yanked the girls out of the tub, drained the tub (which seemed to take forever!), scooped the poop out, scrubbed the tub with comet, filled it back up, found a naked Brin playing with her little people barn in her room, put the girls back in tub, and picked dane back up to feed him. Then, as I finished feeding Dane, Maya yelled to me, “Mom! Brin’s done!” Well, she couldn’t be since I hadn’t even washed her and she had JELLO smashed in her hair with chocolate cake smashed on her face. So once again, I ran into the bathoom and quickly washed Brin up, quickly washed Maya up, convinced her to get out of the tub because she was freezing, filled Dane’s tub, bathed him, dressed him, got the girls in their pajamas, and found Brin wearing Maya’s hat and tennis shoes. I didn’t get a picture of it because I was busy trying to video Maya making Dane laugh (which he wasn’t in a laughing mood last night right after his bath; later, he and Chris were lying on the floor looking at each other laughing and talking! CUTE!). Then, I had to charge the video camera, and while I was doing that, Chris got back from his errands in time to rescue Brin from killing Dane (she was trying to climb on top of him in the exersaucer!). So therefore, I was unable to call you last night.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in family moments, fun, life, memories, superstars. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to …so this is why i couldn’t call you

  1. librariane says:

    This really made me giggle–thanks for sharing! It’s like the kayak trip we took on Labor day: while it was happening it was AWFUL, but now it’s a ‘memorable event’… Let’s just say that going on a river when it hasn’t rained in a month and a half is a baaaad idea.

  2. Karen says:

    Oh, what a night! I can relate to those types of nights and I only have one, so I can only imagine the chaos that ensued with 3 little ones!

  3. gianna says:

    you can’t multiply the chaos by 3. Because one alone is so crazy, it’s like multiplying the chaos by 42! And Ruhama, I gotta hear about this kayaking trip!

  4. librariane says:

    Okay, so we knew we shouldn’t go north to try to kayak, as it probably was even drier above us, and didn’t want to travel too far, as it was just a day trip. Chip’s been itching to do a couple IL rivers, so the Des Plaines it was. Seven miles was the only chunk we planned to do, but it is a long river. We got in and a couple of fishermen at the beginning said they had been pumping water out of the river for the wetland restoration in the area, so that was two strikes against us! We gamely set out anyway, not realizing that we would be getting out (in the mud, no less–at least northern rivers are sandy…) to walk the kayaks across the lower spots. And portaging a few times–there were some strange mini-dams spaced out every few miles. We guessed if the water levels were normal, it wouldn’t have mattered, but they were weird. *sigh* The other problem, since there wasn’t any water, was there wasn’t any current and the wind was coming from the south. So it was constant paddling. I was so exhausted by the end, I was quite grouchy. We went to Famous Dave’s to eat and I think I ate too fast because on the way home, I felt like I was going to throw up. We got home and I went straight to bed.

  5. Rob says:

    Sounds to me like Chris is one smart guy. 😉

  6. gianna says:

    oh, ruhama! Yuck! I”m so sorry! And Rob, Chris and I are going to discuss which child he should bring with him next time he goes on an errand run!

  7. Jenny Aust says:

    I think I laughed for a full minute Gianna! Thanks for sharing the craziness of your life! There are many days (well, like 2-3 days a week) where I don’t see Brad from 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. Every meal and every bath and every diaper change is my responsibility. You’re doing a great job! And aren’t kids completely fun and completely crazy all at once! Oh, and Sammy has NEVER gone poop in the tub, but Caleb has done it more times than I can count. Nasty, nasty, nasty! 🙂

Leave a Reply

