makes you thankful

5 days ago I was blessed to be able to participate in a family reunion for my dad’s side. My family is so special and so beautiful. I was reminded of that on Saturday. Today, however, I took off work so that I would be able to attend a funeral for a 7 year old from my church. His littlest brother is in Maya’s Sunday School class. It was a tough funeral and I saw once again Maya’s sweet sensitive heart. Close to the beginning of the service, they sang “Blessed Be Your Name.” Right before they sang it, Maya asked me if Lars was going to come out of the box, and I told her that he couldn’t because he had died. (We had been talking about Eli’s brother being in heaven with Jesus because he died, so this wasn’t the first time we had talked about it) Then, we started singing the song, and I was having a hard time keeping the sobs back. I let them come for a short while and then was able to contain them a bit better. When I got back under control, I looked at Maya, who I was holding tightly in my arms, and she was holding back the tears, so I hugged her hard and she shook because she was crying so hard. I think the song, the sadness in the church, and the realization that Eli’s brother couldn’t come out of the box hit her really hard. There is no doubt that this little boy with Downs Syndrom went to live with Jesus and for that there was joy, but it is so hard to understand God when your child dies. I will hug my kids a little tighter, I will pray a little harder, and I will play more enthusiastically! Thank you, Lord for my family! Please enjoy the pictures of my awesome family! I love them all SOO much!

A note to smile about: At the funeral service, I was able to enjoy singing “Great is Thy Faithfulness” with my favorite hymn director EVER! Dr. Donald Ericksen who was the president of NWC for my first 2 years of college led that hymn because he is Lars’ grandpa. I used to LOVE singing “Great is Thy Faithfulness” with Dr. Ericksen! What a fun surprise!


My dad surrounded by the women in his life growing up!
Mona, Terry (their cousin), Vangi, Lis, Pat, and Becky. (Vangi was here from Japan and I learned she is staying in the area for the whole year! YEEHAW!)

Me and my cousin Sarah! Sarah is going to Hong Kong to be a worship director in a church there for the year as an internship for Crown College!

Phew! Family reunions can really wear a girl out! Or 2 girls out!


Cool Brin hanging out with Grandpa French! “I’m so cool!”

Dane and Sonja are now best buddies! She enjoyed him pretty much the whole day! And even though it doesn’t look like it, Dane really liked hanging out with her!

Maya and Grandma French just enjoyed a time of singing! They look adorable, but it was hot!

Dane hanging out with Nate, my cousin Angie’s husband. Nate and I (and Chris) went to college together. It’s kind of cool to have a co NWC Alum as a part of the family. Most of the rest of the Anderson family went to Crown! (there is nothing wrong with Crown, but in the Anderson family, we are WAY outnumbered!)

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in family moments, life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to makes you thankful

  1. Thanks for the sweet reminder of how precious life is!

  2. librariane says:

    I’m working my way through the Bible and part of today’s passage made me think of your post:Luke 2:19 But Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart.

  3. gianna says:

    totally! thanks, ruhama!

Leave a Reply

