grand adventures


We went to Como zoo at the end of July. We included me, Maya, Brin, Dane, and 4 other moms (mostly from our small group) and their kids. The zoo was okay (a little too hectic for me, but why would I have expected anything different? I don’t know!) Anyway, finally at about noon, we were making our way out (we included Maya, Brin, Dane, and me) when I decided to check out the carousel. This is a very historic carousel (and I’m not sure the exact history) since it was at the Minnesota State Fair forever. It’s the carousel that I rode when I was a kid. I talked to the ticket seller and he suggested that since it was just me with a preschooler, a toddler, and an infant (i.e. newborn) we should ride on the chariot (1 of 2). I thought this was a great idea. However, Maya wanted to ride on a horse. Who could blame her? I wanted her to ride on one, too. But once again, it was me with a preschooler, toddler, and infant. I couldn’t do a good enough job making sure the girls were safe on the horses by myself. So I convinced her that if she wanted to ride the carousel we HAD to ride on the chariot. Maya agreed and it was probably better for Brin since for over half the ride she was very rigid. The carousel was really fast (and the breeze felt so good since I was so sweaty from the zoo!), Brin finally relaxed, and no one wanted to get off when it was over!

I bought this adorable hat for Dane about 2 weeks before we went on vacation. I loved it so much. It’s reversible and was just a bit too big for him, but SOOOO cute! I suddenly realized that I had lost his hat at the zoo about a day before we left for vacation! And there was only 4 days between the zoo and vacation. I know that I had it on the carousel, so I must have left it there! Alas, no lion hat for Dane! $7 down the drain. BUMMER! But at least I got a picture of Dane wearing it!

Once again we traveled to Warrens WI to meet up with Chris’s family to enjoy the Three Bears Lodge. This year we rented what any normal person would consider a cabin. The Three Bears calls it a villa, but really it’s a nice sized cabin. If you remember from last year, what the Three Bears considered a cabin is really a FEMA trailer!
Anyway, I didn’t get to do much swimming being that Dane couldn’t go in the FREEZING COLD water, but Brin and Maya had so much fun turning purple with their aunts and uncles. Okay, so Maya had fun with both her aunts and uncles. Brin had fun with her aunts (she was more than a little afraid of her uncles. poor Chip and Bryan!)
However, I was finally introduced to a Nintendo Wii. I have been wanting to try this out for a very long time. Okay, so Gianna, who always loses board games, card games, regular video games (including tetris beginning levels), and any sport of any kind, can play a Wii and win! I won Bowling! No, you don’t seem to understand! I WON BOWLING! Not only did I win, but according to my mother-in-law, I entertained–everyone was making fun of my slow bowling ball–and also instructed. My father-in-law was using my technique to score!
Fantastic!
Chris, unfortunately, was kicked out of our bed the first night by Maya and the 3rd night by Brin! But he got to sleep on the super comfortable futon!
We also all participated in a photo scavenger hunt created by Carissa and Ruhama! It was pretty fun!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in family moments, fun, life, memories. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to grand adventures

  1. librariane says:

    Yep, doing the Wheels on the Bus was fun, too, in the wave pool, besides the slides and frog…

  2. gianna says:

    I suppose that goes without saying!

  3. Jenny Aust says:

    Sounds like an AWESOME time! You are SO my hero, Gianna! You handled 3 kids at the zoo wonderfully! And every day will continue to get easier as everyone adjusts…keep it up!

  4. gianna says:

    I really don’t deserve to be your hero, but thanks! And thanks for your encouragement! I love you, Jen!

Leave a Reply

