are you my mother?

Just recently, I have been thinking about my mom.


Enjoying Dane, the first grandson

Cuddling with Brin

Goofing around with Maya

My mom is exceptional. Because I am her daughter, I lose sight of that until someone is shocked by something that I take for granted. Doesn’t everyone’s mother whip up knit shirts or halloween costumes at the drop of a hat? Doesn’t everyone’s mother make an unbelievable card for every occasion to celebrate in life? Doesn’t everyone’s mother paint their grandkids’ room with words and pictures they want? Doesn’t everyone’s mother make their granddaughters window clings by cutting things like an elephant or a cat or a tree or an intricate sun?
Okay, so you get the point.
I AM very proud of her. I am so thankful that God gave me to her as her daughter. I really wouldn’t be who I am without her. I am grateful to her because I know that I don’t have to be afraid of emotions. I can wear my heart on my sleeve and it’s okay! I know that no matter where God has put me for the moment, I can adapt and cope (I moved 14 times from when I was born to when I was 10, my mom and dad have moved a ton of times since I have been married). I know that the world is a beautiful place and it’s okay to enjoy that beauty (like in nature, people, I know that the world is fallen and not as God intended). I have seen her love a friend so much that the love of Jesus flowed out of her and into her unbelieving friend–who is now a believer.
As every daughter in the world does, I have things that I am doing differently. But I know that I need to be like my mom by believing my children. She always took me seriously and made me feel worth something. She poured her whole heart into activities I was involved in whether it be youth group, VBS, theatre, speech, or Future Leaders of America (which goes by a different name now). She let me ride 3 miles into town on my bike and feel grown-up. She encouraged me to go to college right away when I dropped out of Bethel (right before classes started) and drove me from Bethel to Northwestern where I was accepted for the fall semester that started in 3 days. She had a hysterectomy 2 months before Chris and I were married . She still made my wedding dress, the flower girl dresses, her own dress, and ALL the decorations for our wedding and reception. When Maya was born, she stayed with me and prayed with me for as long as I needed and she and Dad were on call whenever I felt like we were in over our heads.
Now she is loving on my kids like she loved on me when I was that age.
I love you, Mom!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to are you my mother?

  1. Melissa Dietz says:

    That is just so sweet, I wanna cry! Your mom IS amazing! Great post, Gianna!

  2. gianna says:

    This comment has been removed by the author.

  3. It seems as though we always take for granted what we have until we see how much others are able to live joyfully without – yet we know we would be miserable without what we have always known, and now take for granted.Yes, taking our loved ones for granted is a tragedy that creeps up on us. Thanks for the reminder!

  4. what a beautiful post! i think once you’re a mom you look at your own mom differently and maybe, just maybe it begins to dawn on you how much a mom really is.

  5. Jenny Aust says:

    What a great post Gianna! Mothers rock!!!

Leave a Reply

