the search

When Maya was 6 weeks old, our friends, Melissa Dietz and Nancy Reese, gave her a little stuffed elephant at her shower. Since then, Elephant has evolved into this important and necessary friend for Maya. Oh, and his name is Elephant. We have other animals with other names; the raccoon is Scratch, the mouse is Squeaky, the rabbit is Hoppy, and the pink Elephant (that belongs to Brin) is Winks. But Maya’s elephant is Elephant. And you would be silly to ask her otherwise.


Elephant and Miss Leggs

Hat Models together

Elephant involved in his most important activity: sleeping.

Elephant and Maya home from church (not that HE goes, but Maya did)

Anyway, horror of all horrors has happened. We LOST Elephant! Well, more specifically, Maya lost Elephant, but that includes us all.
Chris and I have torn apart our house and cannot figure out where Maya stashed him. I never thought we would be parents that had a kid who was attached to something so much. And in fact, we MAY have to pull out a spare, but you know she will know and you know she won’t love it as much especially since the Real Elephant is all lumpy and in need of a good wash. We caught ourselves becoming angry at Maya realizing later that she is only 2 and losing him is mostly her fault, but she IS only 2.
I don’t think I have prayed so hard about a stuffed animal since I was 10 and lost my stuffed deer at a hotel (which by the way, Litchfield was rescued miraculously).
So if anyone has any good ideas, please let us know.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in superstars. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to the search

  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. oh we know this horror at our house. mia lost bunny for a few days (yes, like maya her bunny’s name is bunny and as you so appropriately put it you’d be silly to ask her why). thankful bunny turned up a few days later in the church nursery. we had to play the substitute game in the meantime, and no, it was not the same. needless to say bunny has been “grounded” to the house. good luck with the search. hope you find her soon!

  3. gianna says:

    I’m so glad we aren’t the only ones! You make me feel so much better!

  4. Jenny Aust says:

    I can so relate! When Brad was gone on a missions trip about a year and a half ago, Sammy latched on to one of her stuffed animals…a bear in a bunny outfit. (We affectionately call him “Bunny Bear.”) She CANNOT take a nap or go to sleep without him. I’ve had panic attacks some days when we can’t find him and it’s time to sleep! It’s crazy how one stuffed animal can be so cute and so aggravating all at the same time! I will pray that elephant finds his way home!!!

  5. librariane says:

    Here’s my question–does anyone remember an attachment from their childhood? I really don’t recall having one item, whether it’s a blankie or stuffed animal… perhaps I should ask mom. I did suck my fingers, though (not my thumb), so that might have been my comfort substitute. 🙂

  6. gianna says:

    yes, I had a little stuffed deer and I named him Litchfield. But I remember random things from my childhood!

Leave a Reply

