The joy of Christmas?

I LOVE Christmas, but I am always tired after we are done celebrating the season.
Why is it that this holiday is so exhausting? This year was probably exhausting due to me working full time, Chris being in school, our holiday plans changing a bazillion times, and driving in a blizzard for 7 hours to get to Chris’s parents’ house. But maybe not….


I have come to appreciate what my mom did for us to enjoy Christmas. I know it’s not about us enjoying Christmas, but about bringing joy to God during this season. It’s so easy to forget that in the hussle and bussle of getting everything ready to be “perfect.” Growing up, Christmas was magical for our family, and now as a mom, I want my kids to love the spirit of the season and not just be excited for new stuff.

One thing I taught Maya to do during the holiday was to yell, “Praise the Lord! YEA, God!” when she saw Christmas lights. Obviously at 2, she’s not going to understand completely what it means, but I wanted her focus to be on Jesus and lights can remind us of Him during this time! She really enjoyed Christmas this year and was learning about Jesus and his birth. I was trying to explain what it would have been like to be born in a barn. I told her to imagine being born in our garage. “Would you have liked to be born in our garage, Maya?” “Naooooooooo!” (with a grin on her face)

Brin got into the season by joyfully ripping paper and continuing her new venture of climbing on top of things (as you can plainly see in this picture). She also like to climb INTO things (like her toy box, her drawers, etc…). She also started to walk EVERYWHERE and not just to people. She will totally walk right past you now instead of coming straight AT you. She is walking all over the house. It’s a good thing we have our gates permanently up so as to avoid a colossal accident.
My family came over to our house on the evening of Friday, 12/21/07 , and my brother (Andrew) was in charge of the meal. He always plans good stuff. We had broccoli and onion casserole with mashed potatoes, chicken, ham, onion rolls, and a whole bunch of hors de voures that my mom provided. We pretty much ate all night long.
I think one of the highlights for me was to watch (or hear) Ruhama playing with her nieces. Ruhama doesn’t get to be around them very much so it was super great to watch them play. It inspired me to do a better job of playing with my girls and not take for granted the time I have with them.
Brin got to meet her Great Grandma Kordatzky for the first time, and Maya was reintroduced. Maya made me so proud of her. She wasn’t nervous or even that shy. She just loved on Great Grandma right away (and her Great Great Aunt Georgiana). Brin took a little while longer to warm up to Great Grandma because she didn’t want to sit; she wanted to walk or go up the stairs or throw a fit (whatever was right for the moment).

I’m glad the holiday was special for the girls, and I’m glad Chris and I got to spend some quality time with our families. It makes the exhaustion worth it!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in christmas, family moments, memories. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The joy of Christmas?

  1. librariane says:

    Goodness, it was fun. Chip had his fair share with the girls, too, which was sweet.I think it’s family that makes Christmas the most special, besides celebrating God’s gift to us. That way, we don’t have to get worked up about the DAY and can celebrate whenever!

  2. gianna says:

    I’m glad the girls like their Uncle Chip. I wonder if he would have spent AS MUCH time with Brin if I didn’t keep thrusting her in his direction for him to catch and hold for “just a minute.” It was a fun time had by all!

  3. Rob says:

    Merry Christmas, and a Happy New Year! The kids are so cute. 🙂

Leave a Reply

