a sheep and bo peep

Each year our church hosts a Harvest Festival for the Halloween Holiday. And our plan was to go for our 2nd year. This year, I found a sheep costume for Brin for Halloween for $2. You totally can’t go wrong with a $2 costume. I immediately thought, “It would be really fun to make Maya a Little Bo Peep Costume.” So being the working, non-sewing (except to make curtains or turn those same curtains into aprons) mom, I commissioned my mom to the task of designing her costume. My mom is SO GREAT at designing clothes. She has designed everything from my wedding dress to Maya’s costume. Maya loved everything about her costume right down to her “pantawoons!” Oh, she wasn’t very fond of her bonnet, but we were able to get a picture at least. It wasn’t very comfortable. If Mom had been able to fit the bonnet to her head, she would have been able to design a much more comfortable one for her. My friend from work let us borrow her “theracane” for Maya’s staff. Christine has back problems and has this cane that she can use to rub her own back. It is made of HARD plastic, probably not the best thing for a 2 year old to be carrying around a very busy church, but it worked out for the most part. There were no injuries due to the misuse of the cane! I was just a bit nervous.
The Harvest Festival is a whirlwind of craziness for me. I am exhausted by the end because I am constantly making sure we have everything and no one is getting hurt and oh, Maya has to go potty and Brin is getting heavy and we need to get a picture….You get the idea. This year, Chris couldn’t come because he had class (very important), so Elizabeth came with us. Oh, what a blessing! Even though, I was still exhausted by the end, I was so thrilled to have her come because I would have been exhausted way before the end if it hadn’t been for her. She either carried Brin or the stuff. We were switching back and forth all night!

Maya picked a red balloon from the carnival.


Brin and Leif checking each other out. It was the Lion and the lamb!

After we had had enough of the Harvest Festival, the Eckers and the Kordatzkys made their way to the Fire Station again. Bo Peep and the Cowboy hanging out in the fire truck! I was starving and scarfed a hot dog and chips and Maya’s last 1/2 hot dogwhile Elizabeth took the girls to see the trucks! Did I mention how glad I was that Elizabeth came?

Brin’s way of saying, “Thanks for the fun, Mom!” Let’s go home!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in fun, life, memories, superstars. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to a sheep and bo peep

  1. sounds like a busy, fun evening. the girls are adorable! i’m still laughing about our similar lives. hope class is going well for chris. tell him hi! love ya!

  2. gianna says:

    What can I say? We gotta see ya more often! I would love to hear about your lives from you as opposed to hearing about it 2nd hand!

  3. librariane says:

    Eek! An update!Brin is so cute and I love the costume your mom made for Maya–she’s amazing. And is the fire truck thingy going to be an annual event now?

  4. gianna says:

    probably! have you updated your blog? I am excited to hear about your trip!

  5. librariane says:

    I tell ya–not having daily Internet access is killing me! I hope to update v. soon, as well as to get connected at home.

Leave a Reply

