turning 30

reader beward: long post ahead
I turned 30 on September 1, 2007. On August 31, Dacia came by to surprise me and took me to the state fair for the evening. On Saturday, as we planned, Chris took me out to the Olive Garden for a date and I got free ice cream with a candle and very fun Italian birthday song.

The unfortunate thing about Dacia surprising me with the state fair was that I guessed that something was going to happen. As I was leaving work, I thought, “I bet Chris is going to have someone do something (Jillayne or Dacia) tonight.” There was no reason for me to think this, but I just had the thought. Well, there was a little reason, I saw in his hotmail, an email from Dacia that said, “re: gianna’s birthday.” I didn’t open it, but I saw the subject. But I figured it was her saying they were going to be gone, so she couldn’t do anything (I knew they were going to Iowa). So it was really nice but not unexpected. I appreciated the effort a lot and I told everyone that Chris just doesn’t plan surprises. He just doesn’t. What he did for me was sweet and thoughtful.

Okay, so moving on to my friend Megan’s 30th. Her husband, Nic, planned a surprise scrapbooking overnighter on Friday, Sept 7. Her birthday is Sept 19th and was turning old (as Nic so kindly put it). All weekI was so excited to go and so apprehensive about talking to Megan because I didn’t want to spoil the surprise. I whined to Dacia about really wanting to talk to her but not being able to because I was so nervous I would ruin it!By Friday, I was so antsy at work. I couldn’t wait! This was going to be great! I purposely missed out on the surprise part for Megan because I didn’t think I would make it in time to surprise her and I didn’t want to ruin it. We had a blast! As huge of a blast as I think I have ever had. It was so fun. I brought Brin with me and she was so good (minus her not wanting to go to sleep). I totally want to do it again!

I left Megan’s party at about 12:40 and was thinking all about the nap we were all going to have. I was so ready for a nap, it wasn’t funny. When I got home, I brought Brin in with me and saw a huge piece of wrapping paper covering the doorway into the kitchen and a card that read, “A Birthday Surprise for you from all of us!
Your Family, Mom and Dad F, Mom and Dad K, Marsh, Bahr, Aust, Dietz, Hurlbut, Ecker, Westin, Loge, Carpenter, Derksen, J. Berg (then later we added Web, Miltenbergers, A&D Olson, N&M Olson)”

I peeled away the paper, peeked in, and saw:

And this

And this:

Chris and my mom and dad were waiting in the dining room with Maya who was holding a red balloon. Chris was videoing my reaction and mom was snapping pictures. I just stared in awe around me at what I saw. I was so touched that everyone had thought of me. I starting to tear up and walked over to Chris and Maya to give them hugs, but Chris wouldn’t put the camera down. “Are you done yet?” I asked. And he told me that I needed to go look in the cupboards. They had organized all my cupboards and drawers as well! It was absolutely priceless!

I couldn’t hug everyone enough. I was so shocked!

A little bit later, I was looking at my card, and I told Chris that I had a lot of phone calls to make. I called Dacia to thank her and to tell her she did a great job. She said, “I’m so done with secrets. I’m THROUGH with you people.” And I said, “Well, at least you are done now. No more secrets!” She agreed and we quickly got off the phone so we could both rest. Chris told me that everyone at Megan’s party (that I knew) also knew about the kitchen. Even Megan knew what was going on. Andrea and I shared a room that night and I told her all about how sad I was that I figured out that I was going to be surprised by the state fair. I went on and on about it. She did such a good job of just listening and not giving ANYTHING away.

We ate a late lunch, and I told Chris that I wanted to get my free Cold Stone ice cream that evening. He told me that he wanted to spend the evening with me since we hadn’t seen each other all week . Maya and I even went to get groceries right before we took a nap, so we could relax all evening. We all got up and Chris grilled us some brats. As we were eating our dinner, I saw Phil walk across the lawn. I looked at Chris and said, “I just saw Phil.” He said, “Yep you did.” I was thinking, “That is so sweet. I told him that I hadn’t gotten a birthday cake (and I also said, I didn’t care: the kitchen was MORE than I could ask for), and he called Phil to bring one over.” Then, I saw Andy and Dacia drive in. I grinned and looked straight at Chris and said, “You are such a DORK!” In the most loving way, of course. This is what he had in mind:





Everyone who had pitched in for the kitchen had been invited over for a surprise birthday party with cake!
Honestly! As my co-worker said, “Where do you GET your friends?”
So here’s the mushy part:
I have the best family and friends. I can’t believe that you all love me so much; I don’t deserve you. I really really don’t deserve you. I love you all and I am so unbelievably touched that you all wanted to do that for me. The only word that comes to mind is WOW.
Kudos to Chris, Dacia, Andrea, Nic, and Andy for doing such a great job of keeping 2 hugmongous secrets from Megan and me.
That night, as I was putting Maya to bed, I said, “Thank you for my surprise, Maya.” She replied, “You’re welcome, Mommy.”
By the way, I still need to get my ice cream before the coupon expires.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in fun, life, memories, superstars. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to turning 30

  1. happy birthday (a little late)! welcome to the thirty club =) what a great surprise! love the pictures of the kitchen. tell chris he did great with all of it. how fun =)

  2. librariane says:

    woot! I *really* can’t wait to see it in person!I know what you mean about secrets–especially when it’s a big one. Besides the fact, I tend to be a bit suspicious, so I manage to wonder about everything, which is tiring!And I still have to mail your card! It’s pretty much ready to go… :roll eyes at self:

  3. Jenny Aust says:

    I’m so glad you had such a wonderful birthday surprise! Brad and I were SO BUMMED we couldn’t come down for all the surprise parties and their festivities! I was so glad that Nic and Chris let us in on it though. Happy, happy birthday!We love you Gianna!

  4. gianna says:

    Everyone who hasn’t seen it, needs to see it. Chris did a fabulous job of organizing this. I still can’t believe he pulled it off!

Leave a Reply

