this is MY road

Before I begin, I want you to know that I know that I’m fickle. Maybe it’s because this whole thing is much more emotional than I think I am feeling or maybe it’s because I’m somewhat of a cynic, but I know that I’m fickle.
In no way am I trying to downplay the bridge collapse. It was awful and I’m so glad that I wasn’t on it when it fell. I was on in 40 minutes before it fell because 2 days before I had discovered and told my co-workers that it didn’t take any longer to go OVER the bridge as it did to go AROUND it since it is under construction. The day before as I was driving over it, I thought, “It’s pretty amazing that they can be doing construction on the bridge and it’s still standing and we can still drive over it.” I know that no one is blaming the construction workers for this, and I am by no means blaming them. I just thought it was ironic that I had that thought the day before it fell. Another co-worker of mine did too.
I was kind of annoyed with all the media attention at first, but then when the national news stopped reporting on it, I was annoyed, too. Like I said, FICKLE! I don’t think I have personalized it enough because I don’t veiw it as a catastrophe. There weren’t that many who died and only a handful are missing. This is no September 11. But I have to remember that each life is precious and that if the bridge hadn’t fallen those 13 or so people wouldn’t be missing or dead.
I still haven’t seen the bridge in person. However, another co-worker of mine has an apartment right near the bridge, and she took pictures. It hit me at that moment, “That’s MY road. It’s not in California. It’s not in Wisconsin. It’s not in Indonesia. It’s MY road that I take to and from work.”
So I will try to not be so fickle or annoyed that now I have to find yet another new way to work and back home again.
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to this is MY road

  1. librariane says:

    I find it funny (funny weird, not funny ha-ha) that immediately they were reassuring us that this wasn’t an act of terrorism. That was *not* my first thought at all!And it is bizarre to have it happen so close to home. Even though it’s 5 hours away, it impacts quite a bit throughout the state, whereas something like Hurricane Katrina didn’t affect us much.

  2. gianna says:

    It wasn’t my first thought either. My first thought was, “I was just on that bridge!”

  3. Jenny Aust says:

    When Hurricane Katrina hit, I was quite a bit upset at all the news coverage it received. It seemed like they went overboard… But when the bridge collapsed, Brad and I couldn’t get enough of the news coverage…our eyes were glued to the TV. I guess different events hit you different ways. (And I am SO glad no one I knew was hurt or killed on the bridge.)

Leave a Reply

