but dust

On Monday July 16, 2007 early in the morning, my grandpa breathed his last breath. Before my grandpa died, I was able to introduce him to Brin. Maya came with Sandy, Brin, and me to visit Grandpa in his hospital room in Willmar and sang to him “Baby Bumblebee” and put her elephant to bed into Great Grandpa’s hospital bed. I was so thankful that Grandpa met Brin. That was so important. He enjoyed Brin crawling all over him and Maya singing. As we left him that day, he was in tears as were the rest of us.

Knowing he knew the Lord was His Savior was helpful as we mourned his death at his funeral on Thursday, July 19, 2007. Maya and Brin both sat with us in the sanctuary of the Kerkhoven Evangelical Free Church, and they were fantastic. Brin never once fussed. She talked a little, but she never cried. She played with Chris’s keys and looked at all the different lights on the ceiling as she threw herself back and then sat up only to do it all over again. Maya understood that Great Grandpa was in Heaven with Jesus and that we were only looking at his body. In fact, when we got into church, Maya asked, “Where’s Great Grandpa’s body?” Later that morning she told us that Great Grandpa was with Jesus! It was so neat and refreshing. Chris and I were a little apprehensive, but I was determined that both girls would be involved in the funeral. And they made us so proud as I am sure they made Great Grandpa proud.

The 2 toughest moments for me were when I saw my brother hug my Aunt Sandy. It was very touching. And also when I first noticed that Kathy Weber was there. She and my mom were very close when we lived in Morris, and her girls and I were/are good friends. That meant a lot to me especially for her to meet Maya and Brin.

Grandpa, Your feisty spunky spirit will be missed. But I’m glad we only buried your shell and that you are with Jesus!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in life, memories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to but dust

  1. librariane says:

    I’m glad you’ve got some pictures to be able to show the girls later. There are a few relatives that I don’t remember but for pictures–like Great Aunt Sally!

  2. Jenny Aust says:

    Wow, what a powerful post! What a joy to have shared a last day with your girls and your grandpa. I am reminded again that nothing in this world is eternal except the Word of God and people.

Leave a Reply

