a trustworthy journey


I told myself today that I was going to trust Chris and the whole time, I had to convince myself! I trusted him, and I reaped the benefits!

There is road construction EVERYWHERE this summer in the twin cities. The only place there isn’t road construction is Highway 100, but I don’t really live near that road to make it worthwhile. Okay, so going on that road would be COMPLETELY out of the way. Anyway, I started working full time this week and this week was the week they limited the traffic on my way home. SO instead of taking 35 W north to Johnson St, I have been going 94 to 694 home. (I know for some of you, these road names don’t mean anything , but bear with me. The point of the story is still good) However, the nature of 94 is to become a parking lot 3 miles before 694. The problem is that we have to get over the river. There are lots of bridges over the Mississippi, but most of them are on major roads that get blocked up during peak rush hour. I knew there was a virtually unknown bridge if I got off of 94 at one point, but I didn’t know how to get there.
Picture this, as I travel on 94, I know the river is on my right. And to get home, I have to cross it. So after thinking about it, Chris told me how to get home. It made no sense. Exit on Dowling and turn left. At the 1st stoplight turn right and then at 42nd St. turn right again. That will take you over the freeway and over the river to East River Road which is a great alternative to 94. And East River Road will get you to 694.
Let me repeat, when traveling north on 94, the river is on your right. RIGHT! Why would you turn LEFT and go over the freeway? That is crazy! Wouldn’t it be faster to turn right and find your way to the bridge that way?
I was this close to turn right onto Dowling. I literally spoke out loud to myself. “Trust Chris, Gianna. Trust him!” So I turned left. I followed his directions exactly, and I was up and over the river using the unknown bridge within 3 minutes! I discovered there is no way to get to that bridge except for the way Chris guided me.
Phew! That was hard. But I’m so glad I did it!
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to a trustworthy journey

  1. good for you gianna! it’s amazing how sometimes those things that seem to make no logical sense end up being right. hmmm…perhaps a parallel between our physical life and our spiritual one. (sorry, forgive me the kids are in bed and i’m getting philosophical) hope the job is going well and that we get to see you this weekend. miss you!

  2. librariane says:

    You know what else is funny? Our stubbornness sometimes keeps us from trusting as well… I find that to be part of my struggle–whether it’s pride or selfishness or what, I’m not sure, but I have that “oh yeah?” streak that pops up every once in a while.

  3. gianna says:

    rob, I thought you would get a kick out of my struggle. Natalie, I am so glad to see and hear about your family. Ruhama, in more ways than one we are so similar! I’m always saying, “oh, yeah?” Actually, mine is more like, “I doubt it” or “i don’t believe you.”

  4. Jenny Aust says:

    Wow, have I so been there! So many times I have thought or muttered under my breath, “I don’t think so Brad!” After Brad and I read the book, Love and Respect, I realized how disrespecting it was towards him. I still slip up from time to time, but more times I grateful for the wisdom God has given him.

Leave a Reply

